French Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A "not bad" adaptation of the classic. I preferred to peel and slice the potatoes into 1/4" slices before cooking, preferred olive oil over vegetable oil, white wine vinegar over tarragon vinegar and chicken broth over the beef consomme. I used all ingredients to taste - in amounts that looked right for the amount of potatoes I used. I used russet potatoes which are NOT the best choice for a recipe like this, but it's what I had on hand. A red potato, new potato or Yukon Gold is what's needed here and it would be good to specify that in the recipe. Best served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
We entertain outdoors a lot in the summer, and this has become one of our dishes that people look forward to. My husband absolutely prefers this over the mayonnaise and egg-laden version. It's extremely easy to make, we use small red potatoes or sometimes multi-colored fingerlings to jazz it up. Because it has no mayonnaise you don't have to worry about it sitting outside for a few hours. I typically make it with vegetable stock rather than the beef consomme so that it is truly vegetarian. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was very good, with a few changes. I used wine vinegar and fresh tarragon, left out the consomme, added vidalia onion and roasted red pepper and a bit of dijon mustard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made this several times when we members of a CSA to use up rocket, since I didn't know what else to do with it. I loved the exotic flavor it has, very continental. The mustard and vinegar blend perfectly with the rocket. If you're looking for a different potato salad, this is a great one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Delicious! I made half of the recipe and used 1/2 cup of chopped Vidalia Onions instead of the Green Onions (it was what I had on hand); however, it turned out great. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I thought this was a nice change from the usual potato salad. I added more seasonings plus some dillweed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I double the amount of consome, and add basil, thyme, a pinch of rosemary, and a good deal of capers. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I only needed about 1/2 of the dressing for my 9 medium red potatoes. I did not really care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a fairly quick and easy potato salid, altho the kids like a potato salid with a little more zip. This is great for an adult meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States