French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Excellent taste and texture with the blueberry pie. This was a my first crust EVER, but I did have to do it twice. First time, I cut warm "shortening" in too much and couldn't mix in the wet ingredients. I threw that away and tried with shortening from the fridge. I was also careful only to cut until it looked like "course meal". Went MUCH better. Browned nicely, tastes great! Recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Excellent pie crust recipe! I'd never made a pie crust using vinegar before; now I don't think I'll make one without it! Light, tender dough that's very easy to work with. Great for lattice top pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I don't know why I took so long to rate this. I have used nothing but this recipe since finding it a year ago. It has gotten more raves than anything I have ever made. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Just had to check out why everybody was raving about this crust and as it turned out, this is the exact pie crust that I have been using for years. You just can't go wrong with this pie crust!! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I made this recipe with the apple pie by grandma ople and it turned out wonderful. I found that it worked out better if it was only in the fridge that ten mins. I made some the day before and it didn't work for the lattice top so I made a second batch and it worked great. Everyone thought it was the best pie they had ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe. I use real butter (not margarine) instead of shortening and it works even better. It comes out with a nice thick crust that holds the juices in that is buttery and a great compliment to grandma ople's apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was a great crust! I have found the recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Very flaky and light - I used 3/4 shortening and 1/4 butter. A pastry knife (multiple blades) makes this dough in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieter B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was my second pie crust ever and I came out perfect. My husband took one bite and his eyes lit up!! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
at long last my search for the ultimate pie crust recipe is over! not only was it easy to make, but it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States