French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Very flaky and light - I used 3/4 shortening and 1/4 butter. A pastry knife (multiple blades) makes this dough in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieter B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Excellent pie crust recipe! I'd never made a pie crust using vinegar before; now I don't think I'll make one without it! Light, tender dough that's very easy to work with. Great for lattice top pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was my second pie crust ever and I came out perfect. My husband took one bite and his eyes lit up!! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Excellent taste and texture with the blueberry pie. This was a my first crust EVER, but I did have to do it twice. First time, I cut warm "shortening" in too much and couldn't mix in the wet ingredients. I threw that away and tried with shortening from the fridge. I was also careful only to cut until it looked like "course meal". Went MUCH better. Browned nicely, tastes great! Recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I don't know why I took so long to rate this. I have used nothing but this recipe since finding it a year ago. It has gotten more raves than anything I have ever made. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I made this recipe with the apple pie by grandma ople and it turned out wonderful. I found that it worked out better if it was only in the fridge that ten mins. I made some the day before and it didn't work for the lattice top so I made a second batch and it worked great. Everyone thought it was the best pie they had ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was a great crust! I have found the recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Just had to check out why everybody was raving about this crust and as it turned out, this is the exact pie crust that I have been using for years. You just can't go wrong with this pie crust!! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe. I use real butter (not margarine) instead of shortening and it works even better. It comes out with a nice thick crust that holds the juices in that is buttery and a great compliment to grandma ople's apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
at long last my search for the ultimate pie crust recipe is over! not only was it easy to make, but it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States