French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This recipe came from a friend when I was 13. She used it to win a blue ribbon at the fair. She was also 13. I tried it and for 35 years I've been winning with my family. Easy to make and always turns out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
Excellent, easy to handle and freezes very well. Great for all of the cooks that are afraid of piecrust failures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Makes an excellent crust for pumkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I used this pie crust for Mother's Day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
It's tasty, attractive, and produces a thicker crust than I've been using (which I like!). It held up to blueberries without getting soggy, and the bottom browned nicely. And the best thing: it's easy to work with - I've actually been in tears before while rolling out pie crusts that just won't hold together, have crumbly edges, rip when you transfer to pie pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I used this for Tarte Aux Pommes and it was just perfect! Easy to work with, nice and thick. Had a great flavor, I bet it would work great for any pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I don't know whether I did this wrong or what, but I was awful! (I followed the recipe exactly and I'm good at baking, so I have no idea) It was hard and tasted like cardboard. I feel bad posting a bad review, but because of it I had two pumpkin pies (made with real pumpkin, no less) that I couldn't use. My family and I just ate the pumpkin out of the shell and threw the pastry away. On top of this, it was so crumbly and dry that it made a huge mess every time somebody cut a piece. I can't tell you how many times I had to wipe the counter and sweep the floor! Save yourself the aggravation and make a basic crust with 2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 stick cold butter and 1/2 cup ice water. You know the drill from there. Much better and much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Very flaky and light - I used 3/4 shortening and 1/4 butter. A pastry knife (multiple blades) makes this dough in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieter B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Excellent pie crust recipe! I'd never made a pie crust using vinegar before; now I don't think I'll make one without it! Light, tender dough that's very easy to work with. Great for lattice top pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was my second pie crust ever and I came out perfect. My husband took one bite and his eyes lit up!! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States