French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Fantastic pie crust! Flavor is better than any pie crust you'll get at the grocery store. Watch the edges while baking because they can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is my first time making a pastry crust from scratch and it turned out great! It was a little dense, but with more practice, I'll get it down. I used butter instead of shortening, but I didn't change anything else. It baked very nicely on my fruit tart. This recipe is not at all difficult, and would work great on any kind of tart or fruit pie. If you take the sugar out, it would probably be good for a pot pie, too. I'm making this my go-to crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fabulous!! Love it.. much better than the traditional dough- this is worth eating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chamberfamfl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was an amazing recipe!! I used it to make a pastry-like dessert empanada and it turned out to be the perfect match for what I was going for! I had to add a little extra flour after mixing in the wet ingredients but, regardless, it turned out fabulous. This recipe is a keeper. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn C
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This crust was tender and flaky. I loved it. Its def important to work fast because once your hands warm up the dough its becomes hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Brilliant!! No other words!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Perfect crust for Grandma Oples apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is a delicious pie crust and will be made again for sure! I believe that I'll make it 1 1/2 recipes next time so I can have a little more to decorate the edges of my pie with little cutouts. Very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made this yesterday to use with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie (recipe this site). Everyone loved the crust maybe even more than the pie! Can't wait to try it with Pumpkin pie recipe for the holidays. Very easy to make and I don't have a food processor. I did have to had about 2 add'l tablespoons of "cold" water to dough to get it to form ball. The trick is to add a little at a time and not pour the liquid in all at once. You learn to see and feel the right texture needed with practice. I have made many a pie crust using different recipes. I also have tried different methods of rolling pie dough (wax paper, plastic wrap, wooden pastry board, silicon mat) The plastic wrap is the easiest and least messy I think. I will continue to use this recipe for fruit pies. DON'T BE AFRAID. It really is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Simple and soft this pastry turned out well. We made it with the Perfect Pumpkin Pie and it was delicious. Didn't stick to the pie dish and was easy to cut. We froze the other half of dough for future use. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States