French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Nas
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The best crust ever. I made small change,substitute 1/2 cup shortning to 1/2 cup cold butter. It was flaky and cripsy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've used this recipe several times now. I really like it. It's easy to work with and it tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
BEST PIE CRUST RECIPE EVER!! It baked fantastically! I used butter instead of the shortening (because I always sub with butter for shortening. I just love the flavor it gives). I also had to add a little more water to get it to come together. It was just a fantastic recipe and I will be using it from now on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have faithfully used this recipe for easily the last five years. I absolutely love it. It's delicious. Super easy to make and works with almost any kind of pie. You simply can't screw this recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Fantastic pie crust! Flavor is better than any pie crust you'll get at the grocery store. Watch the edges while baking because they can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is my first time making a pastry crust from scratch and it turned out great! It was a little dense, but with more practice, I'll get it down. I used butter instead of shortening, but I didn't change anything else. It baked very nicely on my fruit tart. This recipe is not at all difficult, and would work great on any kind of tart or fruit pie. If you take the sugar out, it would probably be good for a pot pie, too. I'm making this my go-to crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fabulous!! Love it.. much better than the traditional dough- this is worth eating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chamberfamfl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was an amazing recipe!! I used it to make a pastry-like dessert empanada and it turned out to be the perfect match for what I was going for! I had to add a little extra flour after mixing in the wet ingredients but, regardless, it turned out fabulous. This recipe is a keeper. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn C
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This crust was tender and flaky. I loved it. Its def important to work fast because once your hands warm up the dough its becomes hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Brilliant!! No other words!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States