French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Best pie crust ever if you follow the recipe and instructions. Loved it and I really don't care for any pie crusts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The taste was phenomenal ! It was like eating my favorite apple pie out of a giant sweedish butter cookie. I got it to work but find the dough hard to work with . When it was too cold it cracked. When it was too warm it was way too soft. I always use iced pure grain in my pie crust and they are tender and flakey . I like the method (if you havent tried give it a shot) but is the alcohol the problem ? How critical is the measure of the use of water? what are the downsides of too much water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I've never made my own roll out pie crust before so when i thought i'd try i was nervous about it turning out. I used this recipe and it was AMAZING. The only different about i did was to used vanilla instead of vinegar (because i did not have any, otherwise i probably would've). My fresh apricot pie was so delicious and flakey! It turned out better than if i'd bought it at a bakery! My husband was so impressed... Will definitely use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I just made a delicious chicken pot pie with this recipe. I replaced shortening with lard, cause someone told me you can't make a good pie without lard. This was also my first pie crust ever. I love it. Flaky, crusty....everything you want in a pie crust. My fiancee says that now I can make that pie crust, he needs an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Excellent pie crust. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Fantastic dessert pie crust!! I substituted 2 sticks of salted sweet cream butter for the shortning and omitted the salt and the crust came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe... I didn't add the sugar and used it on my chicken pot pie recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Photo by mumof3
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great recipe! I needed a little more water than the 5 tablespoons called for but Im not sure if that was my problem or the recipes. Also, I egg washed the dough once on the pie and sprinkled with sugar. Would use this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Perfect every time. I don't make pies very often, so when I do I need a basic, easy, no fail recipe for crust. Not only does this one give me that, but I also get compliments on it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yum, this was amazing, I'll definitely make it again, I used it for an apple pie and used half shortening and half butter for the fats. My usual recipe is just as yummy but more difficult to roll out and has more shrinkage. This will be my new go-to pie crust recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States