French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this crust best for pot pie recipes work's so nice texture hold's together in oven with all the gravy and vegetable's just an awesome crust another one that will be handed down to my kid's and hopefully their kid's too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The crust tasted ok but it was horrible to roll out. The dough crumbled while rolling. I had to keep add water too it in addition to what the recipe called for, kneading it in at the last minute to keep it from cracking as I rolled it. Defiantly better for a fruit or meat pie then a custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great recipe for pie crust. I usually double the sugar as I prefer my crust a little sweeter. I definitely prefer the flavor of this crust over a butter crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this following other's suggestions, one batch with shortening, one with butter...both came out flaky. I used one for two pies, and one batch for chicken pot pies (less sugar). Easy to make....and I kept one in the frig for several hours before baking, still came out great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This crust was very easy to put together, especially using the food processor. Just mixed the dry ingredients with the butter and shortening (used a little of each) in the machine, then added the blended egg/water/vinegar mixture in the little 'drizzle' cap and pulsed a few more times. Was very careful to not overwork and it came together very nicely and was easy to roll. My only problem with the crust is it really wanted to just fall apart when transferring to the pie plate, so a little tricky there. Pie crust came out light and flaky. To me, this recipe was not quite enough for a deep-dish double crust pie, but a little more than needed for one crust. Saved the scraps from the 2 pies made with this recipe and had about enough for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Beautiful! Perfect! I used 50/50 butter and shortening. It was my first crust. Not easy to work with but oh so worth the trouble! It ended up thicker than it's "supposed to be" for a pie, due to my inexperience and it's uncooked texture, but it was so good and the extra crust looked wonderful. I'll make the same "mistake" the next time I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Crust was great but required A LOT more water here in Colorado. After I figured out the lack of moisture everything worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Best pie crust ever! Will definitely use again. Thanks for adding to site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent flakey pie crust. Makes 2 pie crusts. Use a few more tablespoons of water than was called for and the crust was a bit crumbly but it still came out fine. You could probably make this and store in fridge for a few hours or over night if you want to make it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States