French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent flakey pie crust. Makes 2 pie crusts. Use a few more tablespoons of water than was called for and the crust was a bit crumbly but it still came out fine. You could probably make this and store in fridge for a few hours or over night if you want to make it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is my new crust recipe - period. As mentioned by others, once you find this one you can stop looking! I used the tip of reducing the sugar to 1 Tbsp. for savory pies and can't wait to make a fruit pie with the recipe as written. The vinegar adds such a nice tang. I followed the tip about pulsing ingredients in the food processor and just pouring the egg/vinegar/water mixture in. Also, to keep from overworking the dough I used the tip about putting the dough into plastic wrap and molding into a ball. Great tips and great results. Thank you everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It won first place in a berry pie contest! Super yummy and flakey. We followed the tips to use ice cold water and to not pat it out but to put it between two pieces of Saran Wrap. Oh and we used only butter. It will be our go-to recipe for a pie crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very nice pastry dough and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent. Light. Flaky. Liked it just as much as the filling. I did 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups white. I used ice cold water and added it a tablespoon at a time. I think it took me more than 5 TB of water. After making it, I cut it in half, and wrapped each half in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. When I took it out, I rolled it out between two sheets of plastic wrap and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I goofed and dumped all the water in at once. BIG mistake that I had to spend all my time attempting to correct. I pulsed the flour and shortening and salt in my processor a few times. Be careful not to do it too much or you'll liquify the mix. The water needs to be added by hand versus the food processor. I put the dough in cling wrap in the frig before rolling. I rolled it out between two sheets of cling wrap for ease of handling. The good news is it made a nice pot pie crust and my husband thought I was a genius. I will try again and add water a tablespoon at a time and re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing!!! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
THIS IS NOW GOING TO BE THE ONLY PIE CRUST I USE!! OMG AMAZING!! SO SIMPLE TO WORK WITH TASTED INCREDIBLE!! IM VERY VERY IMPRESSED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Used 3/4 shortening and 1/4 butter. It was magical, so delicious. I will be using it again and again! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States