French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Loved this pie crust! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmoelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening, and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a very good pie crust. I like it better than the other 1 that I use to use. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mead, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wonderful flavor and good texture. The dough was easy to work with. Chill the dough and you won't have problems. I used it for a cherry pie with a lattice top and got rave reviews. This is a rich and slightly sweet dough that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
this is my crust of choice from now on! it was easy and perfect, even with the very juicy apple pie i made. unlike others it took a long time for mine to brown at my slow apple cooking pie temp, so i just brushed it with a little milk wash and it looked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I used this recipe for an apple pie I made for Thanksgiving. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Sorry, this came out very strange, and not very pie crusty at all! It was so difficult to roll, it drove me mad, and after I got it as thin as I could it was torture to get into the pan, and then... it baked up so THICK it hardly resembled pie crust, more like a crumbly pastry cake or something. The pie was more crust than apple. (Yes, I have cooked many pie crusts before and I know they are tricky! Maybe it was something I did, but it is unusual for me to have crust problems anymore. I only gave this new one a try because of the reviews. I cursed myself for not sticking with a recipe I had used before.) I guess if people love this one, they must love the kind of texture it has? Really, it tasted fine, but it was nowhere near as thin and crust-like as it needed to be. Very cakey. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
You can also do step 1 days ahead and put the dry crumble mixture in a freezer safe zip-lock bag in the freezer. You can double/triple the recipe if you plan to make several pies. When you are ready to make/bake your pies, take the mixture (~ 1.5 - 2 cups per pie shell) out of the freezer. Mix in the egg/vinegar/water (remember the recipe makes 2 pie crusts so adjust according to the amount you are making) and you are ready to go. The advice to not over mix it is important. I pour the (still crumbly) mixture onto a piece of plastic wrap and put another piece of plastic wrap on top to make rolling out easier. (Remember to ROLL out the dough, not push it out.) These are all tips given to me when I was learning so I thought I'd pass them on :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
OMG this pie crust turned out so delicious! I used it when I made a turkey pot pie that was a little too salty and sweetness of this crust balanced it out perfectly.This will be my pie crust recipe from now on:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Followed recipe and turned out great. Awesome combination with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgil100

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States