French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This pie crust is incredibly flaky. I used all butter instead of shortening and 7 tablespoons of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is by FAR the best crust recipe I have ever used, either baking personally for my family or professionally. it is sweet, crumbly, flaky, melt in your mouth good. So you all know, the recipe in its original form is EXCELLENT, 5 stars in itself. However, substituting butter for the shortening made an equally delicious subset of the same recipe if you love butter as much as, well, most people in the world. The sugar gives it a sweetness other crusts lack, and the vinegar brings it together, and even adds the slightest tang. This has basically become my new permanent pastry-piecrust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this over the weekend for an apple tart recipe. It was the easiest crust I ever made. I mixed the entire thing in my food processer, chilled it for about 20 minutes and it rolled out perfectly. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I follow this recipe exactly but with the following modifications: 1/2 cup of Frozen salted butter shaved into the flour, and 1/2 cup of chilled non-homogenized lard. cut it in with a pastry cutter and follow the original recipe from there. Also, sift your flour! Very good. my favorite crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This pie crust is amazing. My husband said it was the best he has ever had and he's a very picky pie crust eater. Love it! I used all butter and followed the advice of making it in the food processor. That was brilliant! WAY easier than cutting the butter in by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made this pastry yesterday, and WOW! It's the best pastry ever! I used butter instead of lard, and I did it all the food processor! THe pastry was light, flaky and actually almost doubled in thickness it was so flaky! This recipe is a "keeper" for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
The pie crust I've been dreaming of :-) I thought other reviews were exaggerating but I love this crust. It was flaky but moist and tender, and the dough has a forgiving stretchy texture that made rolling out easy. I had given up and gone to premade shells but now I will make my own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This crust is fabulous! It is very versatile. I was looking for a fast and easy but delicious crust for a Lemon Meringue pie when I decided to use this one. It came together very easily. I used the Saran wrap tip someone else mentioned and it made it even easier. I added a little lemon zest to mine just to compliment my filling. Since I only needed a bottom crust I had some leftover so I used it as the crust for Pecan Tassies from this site and they came out great as well. The lemon zest also went with the pecan filling rather well. I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Pretty darn good, but I really wish I would have used real butter instead of butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
WOW! What a great pie crust. I have NEVER been able to make pie crust. This morning @ 6am I wanted to make a strawberry pie. Having no frozen in the fridge, I checked on my favorite recipe website. I used my food processor,follow the recipe exactly, used the two sheets of plastic wrap, and it rolled out perfectly. I kept looking @ it, not believing my eyes. What a keeper. I have been transformed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States