French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made my first apple pie with this recipe a few days ago ('Perfect Apple Pie' recipe from this site) and it was PERFECT! Only thing I did that the recipe did not suggest is I ended up having to keep it (plastic wrapped) in the fridge for about 4-5 hours before rolling/baking. Do not worry too much about overworking the dough in this recipe as although with the intial mixing I worked it as little as possible, I ended up rolling out the bottom part of the crust 3x (for reasons below it fell apart the first two times) and it still turned out flawlessly! I do suggest that anyone that makes this recipe in a hot kitchen: (whether it's because you're cooking other things or because you're cursed like me and your air conditioner doesn't work, or both) to try to roll out the dough as soon as possible when out of fridge (maybe putting it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes would help a bit) as the reason my bottom crust kept falling apart on me when I tried to place it was because it was too warm. Despite my placing issues, this crust was FABULOUS and helped me make the most perfect first Apple Pie. Normally when I bought (past tense because I wont be doing THAT again) apple pies at the store pre-made, I never wanted to eat the outer extra crust but not w/ this recipe!, there wasn't a crumb left! Try this recipe just as is and you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Tried this crust recipe with a fresh blueberry filling. Amazingly flavorful. Who knew one egg and a bit of vinegar would make such a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
THE best pie crust I have found by far! You don't have to do anything fancy with it. No chilling the shortening, water, bowl, etc and it will still come out perfect. I just used my food processor and it was so easy and come out delicious. Def my new go-to crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I can't seem to understand what went so terribly wrong, both times I tried this recipe. I made it once early in the day, and it was dry and crumbly, so much that I couldn't even roll it out and get it in the pan. I tried adding water, but it didn't work. I almost went to a different recipe, but thought it must have been something that I did wrong because of all of the high reviews. So I gave this one another shot. Same thing - dry, crumbly. I made a different recipe and it came out fantastic. Not sure why this recipe just won't work for me, but I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I will use the recipe time and again. It was fantastic. First I made Three Berry Pie from this site and then I made Strawberry Cheese Pie also from this site from the same batch. The crust was thick and flaky even rolling 2 bottom crusts and a top crust. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Had high hopes for this recipe, but it came out more crunchy than flakey. I handled the dough very little, as I've always done to achieve a flakey texture. I think perhaps there is just too much liquid in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe makes the perfect pie crust. For ease and speed, I made it in my food processor, processing just until mixed. The crust was tender, had good flavor, and browned nicely. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The dough was easy to work with and it browned perfectly. However the vinegar left a funny smell to the pie and altered the flavor. I wonder if lemon juice would be a substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
OMG! this was my very first try at making a "from scratch" pie crust, usually I buy frozen pie shells. I will never do that again! this was so easy and so buttery and good (I used only butter because that's what I had)...because this was my first try there were some things on my side that I could have done better... I didn't roll it out enough so the bottom crust was kinda thick (the top crust was fine) and although for me it was good i know that won't appeal to everybody so next time i'll roll it out thinner, but overall this was a great recipe and will now be my go to pie crust recipe because it was soooo easy...btw, i made the crust the night before, wrapped in plastic wrap and left in the fridge...in the morning i let it sit for a few minutes before working with it and the prior suggestions about using plastic wrap vs. flour for rolling it out made it that much easier!! woohoo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This pie crust is incredibly flaky. I used all butter instead of shortening and 7 tablespoons of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States