French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I can't seem to understand what went so terribly wrong, both times I tried this recipe. I made it once early in the day, and it was dry and crumbly, so much that I couldn't even roll it out and get it in the pan. I tried adding water, but it didn't work. I almost went to a different recipe, but thought it must have been something that I did wrong because of all of the high reviews. So I gave this one another shot. Same thing - dry, crumbly. I made a different recipe and it came out fantastic. Not sure why this recipe just won't work for me, but I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I will use the recipe time and again. It was fantastic. First I made Three Berry Pie from this site and then I made Strawberry Cheese Pie also from this site from the same batch. The crust was thick and flaky even rolling 2 bottom crusts and a top crust. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Had high hopes for this recipe, but it came out more crunchy than flakey. I handled the dough very little, as I've always done to achieve a flakey texture. I think perhaps there is just too much liquid in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe makes the perfect pie crust. For ease and speed, I made it in my food processor, processing just until mixed. The crust was tender, had good flavor, and browned nicely. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The dough was easy to work with and it browned perfectly. However the vinegar left a funny smell to the pie and altered the flavor. I wonder if lemon juice would be a substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
OMG! this was my very first try at making a "from scratch" pie crust, usually I buy frozen pie shells. I will never do that again! this was so easy and so buttery and good (I used only butter because that's what I had)...because this was my first try there were some things on my side that I could have done better... I didn't roll it out enough so the bottom crust was kinda thick (the top crust was fine) and although for me it was good i know that won't appeal to everybody so next time i'll roll it out thinner, but overall this was a great recipe and will now be my go to pie crust recipe because it was soooo easy...btw, i made the crust the night before, wrapped in plastic wrap and left in the fridge...in the morning i let it sit for a few minutes before working with it and the prior suggestions about using plastic wrap vs. flour for rolling it out made it that much easier!! woohoo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This pie crust is incredibly flaky. I used all butter instead of shortening and 7 tablespoons of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is by FAR the best crust recipe I have ever used, either baking personally for my family or professionally. it is sweet, crumbly, flaky, melt in your mouth good. So you all know, the recipe in its original form is EXCELLENT, 5 stars in itself. However, substituting butter for the shortening made an equally delicious subset of the same recipe if you love butter as much as, well, most people in the world. The sugar gives it a sweetness other crusts lack, and the vinegar brings it together, and even adds the slightest tang. This has basically become my new permanent pastry-piecrust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this over the weekend for an apple tart recipe. It was the easiest crust I ever made. I mixed the entire thing in my food processer, chilled it for about 20 minutes and it rolled out perfectly. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I follow this recipe exactly but with the following modifications: 1/2 cup of Frozen salted butter shaved into the flour, and 1/2 cup of chilled non-homogenized lard. cut it in with a pastry cutter and follow the original recipe from there. Also, sift your flour! Very good. my favorite crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States