French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe was ridiculously easy and surprisingly delicious. I opted for the butter flavored Crisco because I love the butter taste but didn't want to run the risk of messing with the pie's consistency by using actual butter. Also, some wonderful angel mentioned a cling wrap tip (put the dough between two pieces of cling wrap before rolling it out) and that was the best piece of advice I've ever gotten from this site. I didn't have to worry about dough sticking to the rolling pin, I didn't have to worry about the edges breaking apart (they all just smush together in the cling wrap!) and I didn't have to worry about it sticking to the counter. Also, it was much easier to transport the crust when I was ready to move it. I put the two pieces of cling wrap perpendicular to each other so that I could fold the ends over (since the crust was wider than my cling wrap), if that helps. Seriously great recipe that is seriously easy for an amateur like me to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanphobia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good - flaky and very light. Not as fragrant as crusts using butter. I have since used 50/50 butter and shortening and it's wonderful. Buttery flavor as well as flaky from the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Nice crust. Easy to make. Only suggestion is if you are going to use it for a sweet pie (as opposed to a pot pie or something), you may want to add a little sugar. Either add a lil powdered sugar and water or a lil granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I am apprehensive of using vinegar in a pie crust. We will see... Well I tasted it before baking and surprisingly it did not taste like vinegar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Thank you for an excellent pie crust recipe! Making a pie crust from scratch is often a daunting task, especially for the inexperienced (like me). This one couldn't have been simpler. The only change I made was to use butter-flavor shortening. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Easy peasy lemon squeezy! My first real successful pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Easy, quick crust with a yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the pie crust recipe I have been using for years (I was passed on to me by my grandmother), except I use milk instead of the water and I add a pinch of baking soda. I usually make a large recipe and freeze the (uncooked) leftovers in ziplock bags. Believe it or not, I think it's even better and flakier after it's been frozen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States