French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The best pie crust ever. EVER. The only problem I had was handling it. Eventually it turned out perfect, but be careful and don't get frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This crust tok me a couple tries to get perfect, although after reading the tips and tricks I realized where I was going wrong. Once I got that figured out I was off to the races! I do find it makes a bit more than one 9" double crust pie. It makes almost 3 crusts total. I simply freeze my remainders.This crust does not do well over worked or over floured. It has a slight hint of sweet and my taste testers describe it as vaguely short-bread-like in it's taste. I halve the sugar when using for my meat pies. I've tried other crusts on this site but this one still stands out as the best for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khueggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
The best pie crust I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDYMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conover, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Wonderful crust! I used it for the apple pie I was making. (grandma ople's look it up!!) it was a little hard to roll but that could be user error. Either way delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family really enjoyed this crust. It has a very nice texture and flavor. Great for apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
DO not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious! I made this for an apple pie. Although I didn't like the filling part that I made, I LOVED this crust! It was flaky and just plain awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Was looking for a different crust that A) had flavor and B) was flaky. Was very pleased with the outcome of this crust. Used it to make both apple and a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I decided to find another recipe other than my mother's (don't shoot me mom) and this sounded so interesting. I used it for pumpkin pies this year. The dough is very easy to work with. I did not change a thing, following the directions to the letter. Prior to baking I brushed the crust with beaten egg whites (and if I were making a double crust pie, sprinkled the top with sugar for a crispy, shiny crust) The mini test pie I made got rave reviews from the "testers" aka the kids. I have been instructed to always use this recipe from now on. I can't thank you enough for your amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have tried many crust recipes and this one is SUPERB! No other crust like it! Easy to make, easy to roll; just used two pieces wax paper and a lil flour. Exceptional taste too! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States