French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Was looking for a different crust that A) had flavor and B) was flaky. Was very pleased with the outcome of this crust. Used it to make both apple and a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I decided to find another recipe other than my mother's (don't shoot me mom) and this sounded so interesting. I used it for pumpkin pies this year. The dough is very easy to work with. I did not change a thing, following the directions to the letter. Prior to baking I brushed the crust with beaten egg whites (and if I were making a double crust pie, sprinkled the top with sugar for a crispy, shiny crust) The mini test pie I made got rave reviews from the "testers" aka the kids. I have been instructed to always use this recipe from now on. I can't thank you enough for your amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have tried many crust recipes and this one is SUPERB! No other crust like it! Easy to make, easy to roll; just used two pieces wax paper and a lil flour. Exceptional taste too! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did substitute frozen butter for the shortening. pulsing dry ingredients in food processor with the frozen butter until it resembles course meal. Added the liquid formed 2 balls, and then I kept it in the freezer for 10 minutes before rolling out. This was one of the best recipes I have ever used. It comes out flaky and buttery flavored, everyone raves abut it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
If looking for a crust that will dominate the pie this is it. I rolled it 1/8" thick, but it seems to puff up or thicken in the oven. It is also quite sweet with 3 Tblsp. of sugar for a traditional pie crust. I used it with a really sugary sweet apple pie and the two did not go well together at all! I would save this pie crust for a tart or no bake pie with a cream filling. It is thick, dense, and almost cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe was ridiculously easy and surprisingly delicious. I opted for the butter flavored Crisco because I love the butter taste but didn't want to run the risk of messing with the pie's consistency by using actual butter. Also, some wonderful angel mentioned a cling wrap tip (put the dough between two pieces of cling wrap before rolling it out) and that was the best piece of advice I've ever gotten from this site. I didn't have to worry about dough sticking to the rolling pin, I didn't have to worry about the edges breaking apart (they all just smush together in the cling wrap!) and I didn't have to worry about it sticking to the counter. Also, it was much easier to transport the crust when I was ready to move it. I put the two pieces of cling wrap perpendicular to each other so that I could fold the ends over (since the crust was wider than my cling wrap), if that helps. Seriously great recipe that is seriously easy for an amateur like me to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanphobia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good - flaky and very light. Not as fragrant as crusts using butter. I have since used 50/50 butter and shortening and it's wonderful. Buttery flavor as well as flaky from the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Nice crust. Easy to make. Only suggestion is if you are going to use it for a sweet pie (as opposed to a pot pie or something), you may want to add a little sugar. Either add a lil powdered sugar and water or a lil granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I am apprehensive of using vinegar in a pie crust. We will see... Well I tasted it before baking and surprisingly it did not taste like vinegar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States