French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yum! Bags of onions were buy one get one free at the local grocery, so I thought I'd give this soup a try. Great recipe! It takes lots of time, but not a lot of effort- just stir once in a while while you're doing other things around the house. I also omitted the dried minced onion- didn't have any- probably doesn't make a noticeable difference. Very rich flavor and my house smells great. This French Onion Soup is better than the crock pot version I tried last time and I'll be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good. Instead of French bread I just used croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Excellent soup! it was easy and delicious and my whole family loved it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
awesome soup my family loves this, I make it a lot during the winter time, works great with roast beef sandwiches the only thing I do different and it makes a huge difference is instead of canned broth I use beef Bouillon and I add in a extra cup of chicken broth with 2/3 cup of a dry sherry at the end tastes much more authentic with a white wine in the broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
My husband absolutely LOVED this soup! I halved it and was enough for 2 big bowls...should have made the whole recipe since I didn't have any left when he wanted seconds. Made it with grilled havarti dill cheese sandwiches and it was the perfect low effort comfort meal. Will be making this recipe again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchrstacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Excellent and very easy to make. Had it at a dinner party, out of 13 bowls served, only one bowl had ANY left in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Wonderful and easy. I have had bad luck with French onion soups coming out too salty, so I omitted the salt and used minced garlic, maybe a teaspoon full, rather than the garlic salt. Other than that, used as-is. I sliced a French baguette into little rounds and topped each bowl with 3-4 little rounds before topping with Swiss and baking. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had never made french onion before and found this very easy to make although I added my own twist by using the broth and bits of leftover beef from a roast I cook the night before and black truffle salt instead of plain salt. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
A great, simple recipe. I too prefer slices of provolone cheese and garlicky croutons over Swiss cheese and french bread, but the rest of the recipe made for an excellent, restaurant-quality soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I have made this 3 times in the last 2 months. Delish and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States