French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very tasty. Loved it. I added 3 crushes cloves of garlic. Half way through simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this for Christmas dinner, and got rave reviews. Absolutely scrumptious; wouldn't change a thing. Used Killian's Red as the beer. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The soup tastes delicious. However adding 10 onions is absurd. I added 4 and a half and it was plenty. I added more beef broth than called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a nice, light version of the traditional french onion soup, this meant even my children ate and enjoyed it, which they wouldn't have done with a soup made with wine. Not just that but it was tasty to boot, I made mine with vegatable stock. Thank you for sharing, it will be made again here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe's definately a keeper. The taste is wonderful, I also added a splash of Worchestershire, presentation is also key here. Spend the extra to buy the soup crocks and you'll feel like you're eating in a fancy restuarant every time you make this wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I replaced the beef broth with beef consomme - it gave the soup a rich smooth flavor. this is one of the best onion soups I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
this is one of the worst recipesI have ever tasted. I followed it to the letter and nothing came out right.I used everything fresh and that did not even make any difference.I do not recommend this for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This soup was very flavorful I added a splash of red wine for color. I did use Vidallia onions which made the soup far too sweet. I would stick to white or yellow onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Very good! I used low sodium beef broth and then added a little worchestshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I've tried many french onion soup recipes, and this one was pretty good. I reduced the number of onions to 6 and I added two tablespoons of flour to the onions right before they finished cooking. I used a brown ale and it gave the soup a really good flavor. I added a little salt at the end, but that was just my own personal taste. I would definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT1211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States