French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rebekah
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow! This was amazing! It was my first try at French Onion and my husband sang my praises all through the meal. I thought that there would be too many onions, but I followed the recipe and it was fine. I used Samuel Adams beer and substituted Swiss cheese. This is defiantly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was just ok for me. I have enjoyed this at restaurants such as Mimi's Cafe and they just get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this last night. Scaled it down to make just the right amount for my hubby and I. I wish I had made more. A++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
After making this recipe, I was told it was the best my friends had ever tasted! There were no leftovers! The beer really added a great flavor. I also had to use Jarlsberg cheese--all I had on hand, but it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is very good and easy too! I did use 5 onions not the 10 it called for. The beer gave it a nice taste. My husband rated it a 9 out of 10 and trust me...thats really good!! I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I just made this exact recipe this weekend with a hunk of Beef in a slow cooker. Trust me, ten onions is NOT absurd! If it is done right, the onions will become translucent and practically melt away. Enjoy this with a hunk of homemade French bread and some sweet butter and away we go! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
If you follow the recipe as given, it is amazing! The flavor is wonderful. Not crazy about all the onions? Pull them out when you ladle the soup into the bowl before baking, so you get all the flavor but not all of the onion. Very nice. My family looks forward to having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I followed this recipe except for decreasing the onions to 6 yellow and 1 vidallia, it took longer to brown than the recipe, and I substituted half Swiss and half Provolone cheese; it was a big hit with company, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVE50613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
GREAT!! After onions were browned (used only 6 avg sized onions) I added 1TB flour to thicken and 1TB brown sugar for richness. Didn't have enough Gruyere, so I mixed what I had with mozzarella and topped with parmesan. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made this soup for a group of friends and it was a hit! I used seasoned croutons as a substitute for toasted bread and it was great! I also substitutes mozzerella cheese in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States