French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Hmmm... After reading all these great reviews, I'm trying to figure out why mine came out less flavorful, an almost bland, sweetish taste that was definitely not my fave. Followed the recipe, used a Dos Equis beer and increased the salt and pepper - to no avail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this as written the first time and it was waaaaaaaaaaaaaay to many onions. The second time I made it, I used 6 onions about the size of my fist. Perfect! I used a nut brown ale both times but would like to try it with a stout. I would also say, don't use cheap cheese. This soup is worthy of a good Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I don't normally rate recipes, but I can't let this one go without it..I only had provolone cheese on hand other wise I wouldve followed it to the T...This is hands down the most flvorful french onion soup I have ever had!! Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Too much thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The only thing I changed was reducing the onions, based on some of the other reviews. Was fabulous. Used Irish Death dark ale, which is somewhat sweet. Served to guests and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loranger, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was a little different take, but I liked it. I did add a little sugar to the onions, and wished I had added a little more. Perhaps the beer I used was just a little too dark/bitter? Will try something a little lighter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Excellent, made it last night for supper. Used beef broth and Gouda, couldn't get Gruyere. Very tasty. Will make again maybe try Mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is truely a great soup, I used Boston Lauger, being a nightclub, what a great thing for my customers. I make it in large quantities and it was truely great, I use chinese hot dry mustard and it added just a very small kick to it, and I used a fresh loaf of bread from the local bakery, I premelted a slice of provalone on top of the bread slices and then topped it with freshly gratted Parmesean, it came out great and was great for a cold rainy night in the northwest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
it was good first time ive have onion soup my husband and i almost finished off the whole pot! i did decrease the amout of onions to 5 which was def enough! next time i will only maybe do 4 or 3 1/2 i sauteed them in batches adding a pinch of sugar to each and addiding a dash of worchestshire sauce to it. i thought 1 tsp of thyme was a little too much next time maybe 1/2 of thyme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have never made French Onion Soup before this recipe is not only easy, it tastes fantastic! My husband has been wanting me to make French onion soup because its his favorite. Well my husband said that it was the best he's ever had, even better than at a restaurant. I highly recommend this recipe & will be making it again & again! Thank-you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States