French Onion Soup With Browned Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This soup was great! My whole family loved it! I like how this recipe didn't have all the oil and margarine that other recipes do. I added fat free mozarella on top of the soup, then put the bread on, added a little more mozarella, sprinkled some Parmesian cheese and put the bowls in the oven to broil until the cheese melted and slightly browned. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
As with the previous reviewer, i used vegetarian "beef" broth instead of veggie broth and only 2 large onions. I didn't have sherry so used a good red wine instead. Threw the bread on with some vegan mozzarella and broiled it for a few minutes. Everyone loved, especially me! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful. I did happen to make some modifications. I added more broth and added vegetarian worchestire sauce. This adds wonderful depth and flavor. YUM!!! This is a total do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This soup was extremely "onion-y". If I make it again, I would cut down on the onions and increase the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Really good onion soup! LOVED THE GARLIC!!! My house smelled like onion & garlic for days (not necessarily a bad thing!)... I took the other reviewers' suggestions and only used 2 large onions - and that was plenty. I also used vegetarian "beef" broth (purchased at a health food store) instead of vegetable broth. I found another recipe that used fresh thyme in the onion soup recipe - maybe I'll try that next time. I will definitely make this recipe (with a few modifications) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Use fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I needed a soup to bring to our church with no meat or meat stock. I was delighted to find this recipe. It was delicious!! I had to triple the recipe and the soup was gone in a half an hour!I added shallots and chives for a variety of onions. Plus I served the soup with homemade croutons and grated jarlsburg cheese. Make it!!! You'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Tasty, but ditto on too many onions, not enough broth. While making it I didn't think this was going to be the case, but found others reviewers were right! I'd still make it again, only adjust the quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Very Delicious Soup. Tatse better than I had in restaurants. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This recipe is great! I would give it 5 stars, but it took almost an hour to make. I didn't have any sherry, so I used a leftover bottle of red wine, which worked well. I first browned the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil, and I stirred the wine into the mixture. I also chopped up some fresh mushrooms and threw them into the wine/veggie mix. I think the mushrooms helped to add more of a "beefy" flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States