French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
Tastes just like the soup served in restaurants, great recipe! Now if only the bowls were easier to clean...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am very picky when it comes to my french onion soup and this one just hit the spot. I love it, and I'm going to make it thanksgiving for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
WONDERFUL! I will make this again and again. I used white wine and it made it taste like right out of a restaurant. Thanks for sharing, big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This soup is incredible!! I used sweet onions for sauteing. I also substituted red wine since I was out of white wine and vermouth. I also added pepper and thyme while sauteing the onions!! Perfect anytime!! My husband ate the whole pot and I will make more this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Fantastic! This is the first time I've ever made French Onion soup & I doubled the recipe & it worked great! The only thing different I did was add some Worcestershire sauce & topped with Asiago cheese. This was a hit with the whole family. THanks for a great & EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Delicious! Although I found that the 6 servings really only equalled 2 servings (granted, we filled two french onion soup bowls right to the brim). Very easy to make.....and very good too. Will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
i've tried so many french onion soup recipes and this soup was amazing and simple! i used non-meat beef stock cubes because i don't eat meat and it was so good my husband kept going for more! it definitely needed salt and pepper but that could be because i used the bouillon. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avigayil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I took the advice of different reviewers and reduced the amount of water to 1 cup, and also added 2 beef bouillon cubes (one of my cans of beef broth was "low-sodium" so I needed the extra kick from bouillon). Wonderful recipe that tastes just like it does in a restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My husband and I both really like this recipe. It's not the exact same as the kind you get in a restaurant but it has a very good flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I made this soup last week for my picky husband. It came out good - although I needed to add a table spoon of Worcestershire sauce for a little extra flavor. When all was said and done - I think I would add red wine instead of white and I might add a bit more Worcestershire. And I would cut the onions rather than keep them whole because it was a little messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States