French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Used vidalia onions, red wine, 1 cup of water, 1 bay leaf, and 1 tablespoon Worceshire sauce. All great suggestions. 6 servings did turn out to be equal to three servings. Took over an hour for the onions to cook and they still weren't brown, but by then we were too hungry to wait any longer. I don't think I sliced my onions thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Really good. Onions caramelized in 30 mins. I substituted red wine and added thyme as suggested by another reviewer. The soup was really wonderful and my husband asked me to make it again. I only had whole wheat bread - which was a horrible substitute. I agree this really only serves 2 people. ( Also! Make sure you have bowls to put under the broiler before you make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Oh my gosh, this soup is identical to the ones in the resturaunts, maybe even better! We can't seem to get enough of this ! Excellent flavor! Perfect balance of sweet and savory. This is So good. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Really good the only thing I would change is adding garlic and using a combination of cheeses - I use parmesan, provolone and swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was wonderful. The half an hour spent on cooking the onions is absolutely necessary as it gives a fantastic creamy taste and texture. With a splash of cream it is magic. Didn't have any white wine on hand but didn't seem to miss it. Like others have said the recipe "for 6" makes enough for 2 really, which was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This gets 5 stars b/c it is easy to make and the result is delicious - I followed the directions exactly and it was a great soup. The onions smelled up the house pretty bad though, so make sure you leave all the windows open :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Hardin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Made a few minor changes: Used vegetable broth rather than beef. Added a sprig of fresh thyme along with the bay leaves. Finished the soup with a traditional splash of brandy. I agreed with a previous reviewer that this does not really make six servings (unless you eat your soup from a custard cup). I filled two french onion soup crocks and had just enough left over for a small lunch-size serving. Also, it took over an hour for the onions to properly caramelize to a nutty brown color. At the thirty minute mark, the onions had no color at all. So give yourself a little extra time for this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Yummy onion soup. I used vidalia onions, only 1 bay leaf and out of necessity, Honey Brown beer in place of the wine. The beer accented the sweetness of the onions nicely. After tasting the soup, I added a pinch of thyme... Delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Next time I'll use just one bayleaf - 2 made it just a bit too strong. Otherwise - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I made this soup last week for my picky husband. It came out good - although I needed to add a table spoon of Worcestershire sauce for a little extra flavor. When all was said and done - I think I would add red wine instead of white and I might add a bit more Worcestershire. And I would cut the onions rather than keep them whole because it was a little messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States