French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Onions never did get brown, not even after an hour. I thought it was a fair recipe, but too sweet, too much basil and not enough salt. Added some soy sauce, as well as a little thyme. Makes enough for 3 servings. Not bad at all, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
everyone loved it! excellent, and super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Delicious! I made a few modifications. Substituted thyme for the bay leaves (didn't have any), mozzarella for the Swiss (also didn't have any), and used red wine for a more full-bodied flavour. With some salt and pepper the flavour was great. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I made this for dinner and was very impressed. We had it with crusty fresh bread on the side as well as in the soup, the swiss cheese was yummy! I always play around with recipes but this was a great base to start with!Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I used this recipe as I couldn't find my standard one from a Working Mother Magazine article circa early 90s and this seemed the most similar. I too had a hard time getting the onions to brown. I used 5 organic white onions and cooked them for over an hour and there was no carmelization at all. I used a dutch oven and not a stockpot so I would have more surface area to brown the onions. I added a sprig of fresh thyme and 2 minced garlic cloves too. Instead of canned broth, I used 2 boxes of organic Pacific Brand broth from Trader Joe's and my husband liked the less salty flavor. Subbed gruyere for Swiss and added a bit of heavy cream just before serving too as a splurge for Xmas eve dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Yum-my. We used Sherry and only 3 sweet onions (they were very large), and it took almost an hour to get the onions almost-caramelized (I got impatient), and it was super yummy. Just what my prego craving called for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I skipped the wine because I was out and the flour (I do not like a thick broth). I added a little bit of thyme. I really liked the addition of the bay leaf. I do not carmelize the onions just cook them until soft and the soup is still good. I also use mozzarella instead of swiss. With these additions this will be the soup recipe I keep. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I found this recipe outstanding! I will most definitely make this again! French onion soup is my new favorite soup! As noted by other reviewers, this does not serve four. I did add a little thyme to my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made this a couple nights ago and the hubby loved it. I thought it was a bit sweet but good, perhaps it was the wine I used. The only subsitution I made was vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I do agree with other reviewers about both the longer cook time for the onions and that it really only serves about 3. Good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This soup was good but too sweet for my taste. Perhaps my onions were just sweet onions. I did add a whole lot of crushed black pepper to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States