French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
this was such an easy onion soup to make with simple ingredients. i used red onions because that was all i had and i substituted marsala wine for the white whine. i ended up using a little more liquid which was chicken stock just because i had it in my fridge (maybe a cup) and i couldnt taste any difference. my friends and i loved it so it will definately be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I just loved itt. Simple,easy,and very tasty. Thk u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent! 4 Servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I have made this many times with several variations. You can substitute chicken broth for beef or red wine for white. It's also good with whatever type of onion you like. I like this with sweet onions or red onions. I also typically add black pepper and substitute pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
first time maker of French onion soup...this did not disappoint...those who have had it before liked it and those who had never tasted it tried it and liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bu4lyf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I also add 1 clove garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARPERNSMARTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was really good. Adjusted for our tastes. Added 2 Cloves of Garlic with the onion. 1 T of W Sauce, Omitted the Wine and increased the Broth. Sauteed the Vidalia Onions for 1 hour and then simmered for 30 minutes. Used Swiss & Provolone Cheeses. I do agree, this only made 3 Servings and I think there was too much onion to broth as it evaporates as it simmers, I just kept adding broth... Overall very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My son wanted a bowl of onion soup one evening. We went through Allrecipes and chose what we thought was the simplest to make. It turned out great! It was so quick and easy to make. We love onion soup and tasted many at various restaurants and this comes pretty close. I did buy sweet white onions and used a good bottle of wine. Also used shredded mozzarella with guyerre cheese instead. I've made it twice and both times it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This recipe was really good! I took into consideration that everyone who reviewed it said that it was actually only three servings-so I doubled the recipe. I also did as others suggested and added worcheshire sauce while on the stove. Also sprinkled some paprika on top of the cheese before it went into the oven. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States