French Onion Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I haven't found a better tasting vegetarian version of French Onion soup anywhere! Per other reviews, I did add some thyme, and a little less wine than called for. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amboy, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
the best onion soup i have tried !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
AWESOME! I've been searching for years for a vegetarian-friendly version of French Onion Soup. I've been improvising and doing all right, but this is much better! Can't say whether the kids would like it - I don't have any, but my hubby is a very good critic & he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This soup is one of the best onion soup's I have ever tried. I had to give up french onion soup because I stopped eating beef, but now I have a GREAT recipe that I can eat! FINALLY! Zabocka is a genious! Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Delicious! Will definitely make again. Mmmmm..... [12-29-2001] Update: I make this soup once or twice a year (whenever I have an extra bottle of wine lying around) and it always turns out perfect. This is *sooo* good! SOOO v*e*r*y good! And there are no fancy ingredients. And yet it's delicious! Why don't I make it more often? Anyways, whoever said this has too many onions... Did I mention this soup is good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used red onions, red wine (instead of white wine) beef broth (since I did not have chicken broth) and added 2 bay leaves along with the salt and pepper, and it turned out terrific. My boyfriend, who is very wary of my cooking since some of my concoctions are not super appealing, even really enjoyed it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
The soup turned out really rich tasting. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Simple to make and delicious. I used mild red wine instead of white and liked that taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Thank you for this! My husband is a "semi-veg" and I am not, so this was a perfect recipe for us. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the BEST EVER onion soup, slowly sauting the onions is brilliant as it sweetens and tenderizes the onions for a delicious result. I think the reviewer who said there was to much onion did not fully cook down their onions or used the giant sized onions, at any rate it is onion soup after all and their rating isn't fair just based on that, it is what it is! My changes to this recipe was that I used a beef stock that I had bought to use for another recipe that I didn't make. I also used a Gruyère Cheese instead of mozzarella as I wanted the creamy, nutty flavor that Gruyère gives and for my company I thought it would make this soup that much more special. I also used a quality white wine that I already had for a quality flavor. Everyone commented on it's deep flavor and said it was the best they have ever had. I so recommend that anyone who wants a 5 star flavored onion soup give this one a try...I know they won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States