French Onion Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
AWESOME! I've been searching for years for a vegetarian-friendly version of French Onion Soup. I've been improvising and doing all right, but this is much better! Can't say whether the kids would like it - I don't have any, but my hubby is a very good critic & he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This soup is one of the best onion soup's I have ever tried. I had to give up french onion soup because I stopped eating beef, but now I have a GREAT recipe that I can eat! FINALLY! Zabocka is a genious! Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used red onions, red wine (instead of white wine) beef broth (since I did not have chicken broth) and added 2 bay leaves along with the salt and pepper, and it turned out terrific. My boyfriend, who is very wary of my cooking since some of my concoctions are not super appealing, even really enjoyed it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Delicious! Will definitely make again. Mmmmm..... [12-29-2001] Update: I make this soup once or twice a year (whenever I have an extra bottle of wine lying around) and it always turns out perfect. This is *sooo* good! SOOO v*e*r*y good! And there are no fancy ingredients. And yet it's delicious! Why don't I make it more often? Anyways, whoever said this has too many onions... Did I mention this soup is good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the BEST EVER onion soup, slowly sauting the onions is brilliant as it sweetens and tenderizes the onions for a delicious result. I think the reviewer who said there was to much onion did not fully cook down their onions or used the giant sized onions, at any rate it is onion soup after all and their rating isn't fair just based on that, it is what it is! My changes to this recipe was that I used a beef stock that I had bought to use for another recipe that I didn't make. I also used a Gruyère Cheese instead of mozzarella as I wanted the creamy, nutty flavor that Gruyère gives and for my company I thought it would make this soup that much more special. I also used a quality white wine that I already had for a quality flavor. Everyone commented on it's deep flavor and said it was the best they have ever had. I so recommend that anyone who wants a 5 star flavored onion soup give this one a try...I know they won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
My husband and I love this recipe. I'm vegetarian and he's not, and it provides us both with a hearty meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Pretty darn good vegetarian French Onion. But the flavor obviously depends based on the wine you use. I used very watered down vegetable stock, so I added in 4 bay leaves and 3 shakes of Worcestershire sauce. And I sauted the onions for probably 30 minutes, so they browned nicely. I didn't have baguette or mozzarella, so I subbed a toasted half slice of plain bagel & a slice of provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have been craving a good vegetarian onion soup for a long time & think I finally found it. I made my own veggie broth & used a lot of mushrooms & onion skins so the broth would be bold. My husband, who eats meat & always orders onion soup out, said this is as good as any he orders. I think I would double the recipe next time. I cooked the onions for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I didn't like any of the other FO soup recipes on this site, so I tried this one (simple is always best), I did use beef broth. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This soup was absolutely fabulous. My family is still raving about it. We can't wait to have it again. This is definately going in our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States