French Onion Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
AWESOME! I've been searching for years for a vegetarian-friendly version of French Onion Soup. I've been improvising and doing all right, but this is much better! Can't say whether the kids would like it - I don't have any, but my hubby is a very good critic & he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This soup is one of the best onion soup's I have ever tried. I had to give up french onion soup because I stopped eating beef, but now I have a GREAT recipe that I can eat! FINALLY! Zabocka is a genious! Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Delicious! Will definitely make again. Mmmmm..... [12-29-2001] Update: I make this soup once or twice a year (whenever I have an extra bottle of wine lying around) and it always turns out perfect. This is *sooo* good! SOOO v*e*r*y good! And there are no fancy ingredients. And yet it's delicious! Why don't I make it more often? Anyways, whoever said this has too many onions... Did I mention this soup is good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
the best onion soup i have tried !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used red onions, red wine (instead of white wine) beef broth (since I did not have chicken broth) and added 2 bay leaves along with the salt and pepper, and it turned out terrific. My boyfriend, who is very wary of my cooking since some of my concoctions are not super appealing, even really enjoyed it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I substituted beef broth instead of veggie and it was way to strong/salty?. Also, almost every other recipe includes thyme, may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
The soup turned out really rich tasting. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This soup was terrble, it did not have much flavor the best part about the soup was the cheese and the bread. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Simple to make and delicious. I used mild red wine instead of white and liked that taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Delicious - rich and flavorful. We sauteed the onions for over twenty minutes and they were not deep brown, but definitely sauteed enough for the soup. We served this as an appetizer at a dinner party and served the beef tenderloin with roasted shallots (on this site) as the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States