French Onion Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just made it. It took a while to cook all of those onions. Plus, since I'm a rookie, what kind of onions are best for this recipe? I used yellow, which I use for everything. It still tasted great, though. My wife loved it and wants to make it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have been craving a good vegetarian onion soup for a long time & think I finally found it. I made my own veggie broth & used a lot of mushrooms & onion skins so the broth would be bold. My husband, who eats meat & always orders onion soup out, said this is as good as any he orders. I think I would double the recipe next time. I cooked the onions for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilyorchid
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Tastes strongly of wine-- use significantly less if you don't want this as the main flavor. Be sure to cook your onions well, so that they are completely soft, before adding to the broth. I left out the salt and pepper, since our veggie broth contained salt. My husband and I both enjoyed this soup a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
this. was. wonderful. i made it for my family and got a thumbs up from everyone. i did add a few things though, rosemary and a little bit of white sugar. it took a little longer than i expected so i served the soup with bread and cheese on the side and it was marvalous. thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I didn't like any of the other FO soup recipes on this site, so I tried this one (simple is always best), I did use beef broth. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family loves this soup! They cry while I'm making it, and beg me to make more later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My fiance orders French Onion soup every time its on a menu. I surprised him and made this one night and it was better than a lot of restaurants! I used a few less onions, chicken broth instead of veg. and added a little red wine (in addition to the white!) so the broth would taste more "beefy", because most F.O. soups call for beef stock. With all these changes it still tasted amazing! It was so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the BEST EVER onion soup, slowly sauting the onions is brilliant as it sweetens and tenderizes the onions for a delicious result. I think the reviewer who said there was to much onion did not fully cook down their onions or used the giant sized onions, at any rate it is onion soup after all and their rating isn't fair just based on that, it is what it is! My changes to this recipe was that I used a beef stock that I had bought to use for another recipe that I didn't make. I also used a Gruyère Cheese instead of mozzarella as I wanted the creamy, nutty flavor that Gruyère gives and for my company I thought it would make this soup that much more special. I also used a quality white wine that I already had for a quality flavor. Everyone commented on it's deep flavor and said it was the best they have ever had. I so recommend that anyone who wants a 5 star flavored onion soup give this one a try...I know they won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Thank you for this! My husband is a "semi-veg" and I am not, so this was a perfect recipe for us. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I haven't found a better tasting vegetarian version of French Onion soup anywhere! Per other reviews, I did add some thyme, and a little less wine than called for. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amboy, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States