French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
excellent flavor, I followed some previous review suggestions and skipped the water, used more broth, and caramelized the onions. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it's written and it turned out excellent! As good if not better than any I've had at restaurants. Much easier to make than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is such an easy to make recipe! and we just loved it to the last spoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shulig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is an excellent, simple recipe that my husband cannot get enough of. I took the advice of one reviewer and caramelized vidalia onions and skipped the sugar and it added the perfect amount of sweetness. I also used a homemade broth rather than a can of soup. This recipe is easy and flavourful but taking more time to cook the soup will ultimately provide a tastier result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanja Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is delicious! The only thing i would change is the amount of Thyme that goes into it. 1/4 tsp is definitely WAY too much. As soon as i opened the lid to give it a stir, that was all i could smell. I then gave it a taste, and thyme was way too over powering. So i added more beef broth. The smell of the onions caramelizing was amazing! I will make this again, only with a tiny pinch of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. So bland! Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallen20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My daughter and I decided to present "French Night" to the family as a special summer dinner and chose your recipe as the soup course. Wow! My two sons and husband couldn't stop saying how good it was! The only change we made was to leave out the sugar, and that was by mistake! The soup was so good (even without the sugar); absolutely better than any we've had in a restaurant. We cut up the bread into pieces (like croutons) and smothered them with the mozzarella cheese. Soooooo... yummy! And so easy..... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Tasted great. I caramelized the onions (about 35 minutes), and used red wine instead of white, and really enjoyed the flavor. I just used more beef broth instead of adding any water. Turned out fantastic, and my husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States