French Onion Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
It was delicious. First time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenPotter35

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I had no cosomme. I substittued with beef broth ,3 Tblspn flour and 2 Tspn tyme and 2 garlic cloves. PERFECT!!!! I was wonderful and the house smelled great. If I can find cosomme I 'll try that next time. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Best French Onion Soup I have had. Very good, not too salty. I used fat free beef broth and added half a teaspoon of thyme, we also used croutons instead of french bread, delicious...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
JACKPOT! SIMPLY DELICIOUS!!! I am swooning over the broth right now and impatiently waiting for the next 45 minutes to pass so that I can PIG OUT!!! I know it's going to be sooooo awesome!!! the flavors are perfect and they will just deepen and get richer and when I put on croutons and some provolone cheese...HEAVENLY!!! I could not for the life of me get some beef consomme in stock at the 3 grocery stores I went to so I finally made the decision to put my brain to good use and figure out an alternative...just use more beef broth or...AU JUS GRAVY MIX!!! Yes! I bought 2 of the store brand of Au Jus Gravy Mix that makes 2 cups of Au Jus each. Just added it according to package directions with the other ingredients (minus the water)and lots of pepper! Also I had to add 2 more onions. One just didn't seem right. I TELL YOU THIS STUFF IS GONNA ROCK MY FREEZING COLD MN SOCKS OFF AND I CAN'T WAIT!!!!! Thank you hubby for your oh-so-humble recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I have always felt intimidated by french onion soup recipes. Not anymore! This was great and super easy to make. I didnt put the bread on the bottom of the bowls because the bread floats to the top anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osubuckeyesrock1
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I lost my recipe that I normally use to make homemade french onion soup and ran across this one. Sooo glad that I did. It was perfect! If you use everything that's in the recipe, it's perfect flavoring. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osubuckeyesrock1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i followed it almost all the way. Just made two bowls. Very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe, I made it today* I love french onion soup, and this really hiy the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2000
Today I tried my first recipe from this site. Kudos to Jessica Dezendorf (or perhaps her husband). Quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight...so yummy! I added more onions and a few sprigs of Rosemary while it was simmering and then removed them. The Rosemary added a really nice flavor. I topped mine with fresh mozzarella. Huge hit! Definitely going in my recipe box. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States