French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This recipe was a pretty good BASE for a 5 star onion soup. As a few people have pointed out, it was very bland. It had 5 stars so I gave it a whirl. I was very disappointed by the amount of doctoring I had to do to this recipe. There wasn’t nearly enough onions, instead of 2 onion I used about 4 cups, omitted the water and halved the butter. I also added about 2 T. garlic (fresh, minced), 1/4c white wine, 2T worcestershire sauce, 1T fresh parsley, dash of salt and a healthy dose of fresh ground pepper and about 1/2t herbs de provence(yum!). The result turned out very yummy but I felt like I had to rewrite the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
my boyfriend loves french onion soup, so i thought i'd give this one a try! Following this recipe like it is was VERY BLAND! it defintly needed some flavoring help. These are the changes i made: Just like some of the below comments i used only 3T of butter (this was PLENTY!!!). I also sauteed the onions with 1 clove chopped garlic - then added 1/4 cup of white wine. I also added about a cup more of beef stalk (would have done boullion if i had had it). I also added 1 1/2 Tbl. of worchestier sauce, 1/2 tsp parsley, and 1/4 tsp ground thyme. With these changes..mmm.. it turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I've had to try so many different recipes and I finally got it right with this one. This is the best recipe you'll find for French Onion Soup. I add in a couple of teaspoons of Worstershire sauce because my pallet calls for it. Tons of cheese and bread and you have an entire meal. We love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I've been looking for a good French Onion Soup recipie and when I saw how many people reviewed this one so positively, I was excited. Right off the bad, I followed the people who said to add more broth and less water, and to use a boullion cube. My reaction to this can be described in three words: "Holy gravy, batman!" Basically, by using the three aforementioned suggestions, I ended up making beef broth with a hint of onion. While people may like this, I prefer the more oniony taste, myself. Here's what I suggest. If you want your onion soup beefy, go ahead and use the three cans broth. Otherwise, leave it as is, or (-and I would do this either way-) use another onion. Cut the onion in sixths or eights and then peel apart the layers for more stability and flavor - I found the rings too fragile and not worth the work. A dab of worcestershire sauce and a (VERY) small sprinkle of thyme are a nice addition. Finally, go for a blend of gruyere and provolone. Excellent taste. Guten Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This recipe is amazing! My husband loved it SO much that he has already requested it again (and I just made it a week ago!). The only change I made was to add a beef boulion cube to the soup. I think the 2 1/2 cups of water makes it a little blah, and next time I would use all beef broth. Oh, and I took another reviewers suggestion and added some Worchestershire sauce. Mmmm YUMMY! You HAVE to try this recipe -- you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was the first recipe that I tried from allrecipes, and I was very impressed! I added a beef bouillon cube to the water, used salad croutons instead of the bread (they stay crunchier),and used mozzarella cheese on top. Excellent soup that I make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
After our return from France, my fiance and I were longing for the wonderful French Onion Soup that we had had in while in France. I am happy to say that last night, our longing was satified by this recipe. It was really good. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made a couple of changes to the recipe based on some of the reviews and to suit our taste. I omitted the flour completely and added a bay leaf and some worchestershire sauce. I used 1 large spanish onion and 1 large white onion. Sauteed those in the butter with salt & pepper. I added about 5.5 cups of beef broth and simmered for half an hour with a bay leaf. I removed the bay leaf and spooned the soup over toasted thick slices of french bread. Topped with swiss and baked at 425 for 10 minutes. It was fantastic!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was the first time I've ever made French Onion Soup. I thought the recipe was wonderful. I did use three cans of beef broth and less water as other reviews suggested. I used two onions as the recipe called for and I thought that was perfect for my family. My only problem with this recipe, was the amount of butter it called for. I thought this made the soup way to oily. Next time I'd use much less butter or even water to saute the onions. Other than that I thought it was wonderful. I'll absolutley make it again. My Husband loved it. My kids wouldn't touch it, but hey they're kids and it does have onions in it. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This soup was great! I kept the broth and water as is but did add one extra onion and one low-sodium beef bullian cube which I thought was a nice balance. I also added a bit of worsteschire and some chopped shallots. Instead of sprinkling with cheese like in the recipe I found some fresh mozzarella balls at the olive bar at my local grocer. I tossed two to three in each bowl and let them melt just slightly before serving. Delicious!! Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States