French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe. Didn't add the water, doubled the cheeses and added a beef boullion cube. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Quite tasty recipe. I did not use any water (next time I will use about 1/4 cup of water) -- opted for all beef broth instead. Did agree with some other reviewers, it does need about two tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and about two cloves of garlic. I also used a bit less butter than called for. I was very happy with the outcome. Will serve to guests next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Great recipe and so easy to do. I had to come home and make dinner quickly and was able to make this with time to spare before I had to leave. And the taste is awesome. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This soup had amazing flavor. I made it with Walla Wallas that were out of my garden that I needed to use up. It freezes well so you can make it up in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
i just made this recipe!!!! it was very good.i took the advice of some of the other reviews and added worcesteshire sauce,less water and some boulion. i also used rye bread and a blend of different cheeses and it was very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie2003
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is very good, and easy--I don't even like French Onion soup (my husband does) and I enjoyed this. I used more onions, and all beef broth as suggested by other reviewers. Also, I carmelized onions. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APCOOKING
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I'm going to give this five stars! But only with these adjustments... Based on the reviews of others, I didn't include the water at all. I used vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian dish. I doubled the onion, and added parsley flakes, garlic and salt. I also added a dash of balsamic vinegar to combat the slightly bland taste to the whole thing. I used seasoned croutons instead of bread, then topped the bowls off with mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, sprinkled with parsley flakes, and broiled them in the oven til slightly browned. Absolutely delicious and very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. My family really enjoyed this. It was such a hit that I am now the official soup maker for all dinners. The only thing I changed was the cheese to top the soup. I used a slice of provolone and a slice of mozzerella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was really not bad, but I would have to agree with other reviewers that the recipe calls for too much water (and I used 1/2 cup less than called for). I had to give it 3 stars because when I tasted it after it was prepared per the recipe is was really bland, and I don't even salt my food normally. It was just missing 'something'. After trying to figure out what I had on hand that might work (and even adding salt) I finally added chicken bouillon (didn't have beef) and that did the trick. I will make it again, but I will use less water, maybe even none, and double the beef broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I probably can't rate this recipe too fairly, since I made quite a few alterations. I used 3 beef bullion cubes with four cups of water and 1/2 cup of sherry. I also added a dash of worchestershire sauce to the soup. We ate it with croutons and cheddar cheese. Even my kids liked it (they just ate the soup, no onions). Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States