French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONNIE456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Robinson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Everyone seemed to really like this - though I don't recommend it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This a great starter recipe that allows you easily add whatever you prefer flavor wise. The amount of water is good IF you use condensed broth (Campbell's); if using broth that doesn't call for adding a can of water on the label, skip the water and add more of the canned broth. (I do wish recipes included whether or not the broth is condensed or not but I guess with a recipe like this it is probably safe to assume that it is given the amount of water called for.) Like other reviewers, I added worcestershire and sherry to the broth and a little garlic to the onions. Be sure to caramelize the onions; it really adds body and flavor to the soup. A pinch of thyme is good here too. I make croutons instead of whole slice of bread to make it easier to eat. Don't skimp on the cheese whatever kind you prefer. Another winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
1 tblsp. salt olive oil white balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I've made this three times now, and it always turns out nummerlicious (we made up that word for our dog, but it's appropriate here... num num num num num)! I took some of the other reviewers' advice and added Worchestershire sauce and substituted more beef broth for the suggested amount of water. This is an easy and delicious meal. We don't have it a lot, but it's in the rotation, and it's definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Excellent and easy! The only change I made was I added some chopped green onions as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was good. Easy too. Turned out great! I added some minced garlic, seasoning salt and Worchestshire sauce to the onions while cooking. I am really impressed with how good this really was...considering that there is not much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent flavor and my husband said it was better than any restaurants. Easy to make. Served with swiss cheese melted on top and extra french bread for dipping and made it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is the 1st French Onion I ever made and wow! This is some good stuff. I added and onion bullion cube along with the beef bullion and 2 teaspoons of corn starch to thicken up the broth. Another thing I did with this is cut the bread into bite size pieces and this made this much easier to eat! This soup was gone in a fre min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Colgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Really great. I also used all broth rather than the water. Added a dash of Madeira wine. I made croutons to put on top (french bread sauteed in butter and sprinkled with garlic powder, parsley, and salt then broiled for 5 minutes). First time I've made Fr Onion soup and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States