French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I made this for my boyfriend and I and we loved it. It took about 50 min. and well worth it. I used a 14 oz. can of beef broth instead and a slice of provolone on top with a sprinkle of parm and served it with steaks; it was just enough for a nice filling meal. We'll definitely be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Make it fun.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was really good, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used the au jus from some Italian beef sandwiches for the broth and added a splash of worcestershire sauce and about 1/2 c. red wine. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Really good, used frozen garlic bread instead of the french bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Needs more onion and Worshershire sauce. I added thyme per another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I reviewed the comments posted by others and found that this recipe definitely needed something. This was a very good soup after adding some worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Great recipe. I have made this twice. The first time I made it for my girlfriend because her stomach was upset and she could only eat bland food, so I followed the recipe as is. The second time I made it I added the bouillon cube as suggested, and I also substituted 1 cup of red wine for 1 cup of water. This gave an entirely new flavor to the soup, but I like it and it went over quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I never had french onion soup but my husband loves it. When we go out and its available he orders it. I thought this looks simple lets try,and I'm glad I did. It turned out great!! Now I'm a fan. Great receipe very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I agree that this is a good 'starter' onion soup, but it's pretty bland without some additions. I omitted the water and just used beef broth. I added Worcestershire sauce, white wine (4tb per onion), and salt & pepper. It was really tasty if a bit oily from the butter. I would probably cut down on the butter next time. I would make again, but only with the modifications I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Excellent. My friend made it for a soup party and then I made it. Wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States