French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It was amazing the only thing that we did differently was we added a packet of dry onion soup mix. The flavor was incredidable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Like many other reviewers, I thought that this was just a base for onion soup. I had to modify it greatly. So, I have to rate it as written but these are my modifications. I used 3 onions; sliced as half moons, 2-2 1/2 tbsp butter, 2 cups beef broth and about 1/4 cup water, apple cider vinegar(because I didn't have wine or sherry), about 1/2 tea dried oregano. I simmered all this until the onions were soft and the flavors melded. The cider vinegar tasted strange at first. When I baked the dish with the bread and cheese (Swiss mixed with Gruyere) the finished product came out great. It ended up tasting like a real French Onion soup. Thank you for giving me something to start with. I will make this again with my variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is simple, cheap, and has an amazing taste. I used red onions and provolone in my version and didn't have to add any extra flavoring. Cheers to Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Ravenscraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very easy and good! I changed the recipe a little by adding Worcestershire Sauce and fresh thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Super Easy.. I used a little more butter then recipe called for and used bullion cubes instead!! VERY VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal D Cobb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Photo by sg
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used gruyere, organic veggie broth and added some thyme. The veggie broth required extra salt to make it as tasty as beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaDKiTTy
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
It was my first time making french onion soup and I think I got the idea. It was okay. I had it with a pastrami on rye. Good pairing. I made it just like the recipe but added in variation more worchestershire sauce, thyme, parsley, garlc, and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My boyfriend and I use this recipe every time we make French Onion Soup. The only thing we change is we use Chicken broth instead of Beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I was looking for something to do with my bag of onions and this was wonderful! Great flavor and very filling. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States