French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
My husband and I both loved this. I followed the recipe exactly and we both thought it tasted delicious. Next time I will use a little more beef broth because we didn't end up with much "soup", it was mostly onions, bread, and cheese but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariSwaim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yailis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I have to agree with Amy S and others. Left alone this soup is slightly bland. I added salt, pepper and a little bit of thyme. I also cooked my onions in olive oil instead of butter. I should have added some white wine but forgot. I really missed that flavor. While this is not a bad soup, I do prefer French Onion Soup V from this web site so far. Thanks for the recipe but I will probably keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was my first french onion soup and everyone loved it. I only used a half cup of water, and substituted the rest with beef broth. There is no mention of salt or pepper in this recipe, but I used both. And sweet paprika. A great soup for a dark, rainly day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I love this recipe! It's simpler than some french onion soup recipes I've seen. I add a splash of white wine and mushrooms. My husband doesn't usually eat stuff like this, but this is one of his top requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This recipe was a pretty good BASE for a 5 star onion soup. As a few people have pointed out, it was very bland. It had 5 stars so I gave it a whirl. I was very disappointed by the amount of doctoring I had to do to this recipe. There wasn’t nearly enough onions, instead of 2 onion I used about 4 cups, omitted the water and halved the butter. I also added about 2 T. garlic (fresh, minced), 1/4c white wine, 2T worcestershire sauce, 1T fresh parsley, dash of salt and a healthy dose of fresh ground pepper and about 1/2t herbs de provence(yum!). The result turned out very yummy but I felt like I had to rewrite the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
my boyfriend loves french onion soup, so i thought i'd give this one a try! Following this recipe like it is was VERY BLAND! it defintly needed some flavoring help. These are the changes i made: Just like some of the below comments i used only 3T of butter (this was PLENTY!!!). I also sauteed the onions with 1 clove chopped garlic - then added 1/4 cup of white wine. I also added about a cup more of beef stalk (would have done boullion if i had had it). I also added 1 1/2 Tbl. of worchestier sauce, 1/2 tsp parsley, and 1/4 tsp ground thyme. With these changes..mmm.. it turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I love French Onion soup and tonight was my first time making it. I used only 1 T of flour, 2 1/4 C of water, added 1 T of Worcestershire sauce, and 1 tsp of beef soup base in addition to the beef broth. I lightly buttered my French bread, added some garlic salt and toasted them. It was restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELITA27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I used half the butter called for, but the soup still managed to taste impressively rich and buttery. For the cheese I used shredded mozzarella and thinly sliced gruyere. Definately resturant quality flavor from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
really easy to make, good flavor. for the bread i cut up some french bread into cubes and drizzled olive oil on and put a little garlic powder just to make the taste a little deeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States