French Onion Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Awesome! I'm impressed! Really really good, tastes like what you get in a restaurant. I made a few modifications. Used more onions, few cloves of garlic, Worcestershire sauce, a splash of wine wine and a beef bullion cube. Also added a packet of French onion soup mix. Simmered about 45 minutes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made Vegetarian by sub-ing in Veggie Beef-style broth. Was delish and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
i didnt think this was very good at all.i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very good, I added 3 beef boullion cubes to this. Really enjoy this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burlesque
Home Town: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Added 1.5 TBS Worcestershire sauce, 2 gloves of garlic, 1 tsp of thyme. Also, used 3 red onions. Toasted french bread with butter and garlic salt ad then tore into chunks and added to soup at the end. This was our first attempt at french onion. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Rave reviews on this soup! Better than the restaurants for sure. Used 3 LARGE onions which was plenty for us. Also added a splash of worcestershire sauce as recommended by other reviewers. Bread was a bit soggy (despite toasting) will try letting it dry out for a day or so before next time. Also added a healthy dose of garlic powder. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had to tweak this recipe a lot, and did what many other reviewers suggested, which was using less water (I used about 1 C), and adding beef bouillon (maybe 1 tsp), salt and pepper (it needed a LOT of salt, but I don't like mine to be really sweet like some might like), a dash of thyme and about 1 tsp of Worcestershire sauce. after all those things, it was very tasty. I can't imagine how bland this would have been without all the changes! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This French Onion soup was fabulous!! I altered the recipe a bit by adding fresh minced garlic, fresh parsley, and fresh thyme. I also added worcestire, and balsamic to the onions all before adding the broth!! My family loved it. Wish there were left overs. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Made this and it was well accepted all around. Did make a few changes; used vegetable broth instead of beef stock, added some tarragon, thyme and a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This soup was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States