French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was YUMMY!!! Better then most resturants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I sliced three onions and cooked them in about 2-3 tsp of butter instead of oil. I added about a tablespoon of fresh thyme, a teaspoon of oregano and a bay leaf to the onions about 1/2 way through the saute. I also added a can of french onion soup in addition to the two cans of beef broth and also a can of water since I had a lot of onions. I used about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and a bit more black pepper that the original recipe called for. This was _really_ tasty. I had some leftover homemade bread and used jack cheese because that was what I had. The bread and cheese toasted up nicely. Excellent, easy to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
So simple but so great! Added some italian seasonings to it as well, just our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was very easy to make. I did not add the Worcestershire sauce and used Provolone cheese instead of swiss and sprinkled shredded Parmesan on the top once the soup was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was really good as written. I also added more worschester sauce, garlic and a can of water. I recently added basil and that was good too. I found that one pond of onions is one large sweet onion or 3 small brown onions. I put the toast in the bottom of my bowl and ladel the soup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is absolutely so easy and delicious! I substituted the oil for butter to add additional flavor. I also used hamburger buns I had in the freezer and mozzarella since that's all I had and put a little swipe of butter on the bread before i put on the cheese. The secret ingredient is the worcestershire! Mmmm, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Very very good! Added a pinch of brown sugar per other reviewers suggestion. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very nice and light onion flavor. I followed the advice of other reviews and added flour to thicken. Did not make as much soup as I would have thought. No leftovers! But I guess that's a good thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was super fast and very tastey. I was experimenting and found that if you add a bit of garlic and thyme it gives it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Turned out very good. The only thing I did different was to use my own beef broth that I saved when I made a pot roast, so it was well seasoned. This was my first time making French Onion Soup and was pleasantly surprised how quick and easy it was. Thanks for another great recipe Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States