French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Not a fan. There really wasn't enough flavor in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was good, but not my favorite. I'll probably make it again because it's so easy, but I've had better. It did seem to want a bit of salt, but maybe it's just the beef broth I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very easy and tasty. I added a tbs of butter when cooking the onions. Also, I broiled the bread and cheese on the soup instead of separately. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Did not care for this, no flavor....maybe use sweet onions...I just used yellow onions and this had little flavor....Sorry, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I thought it lacked something, I added white wine and it made it a 5 star recipe. I tripled the recipe and to that I put in a cup of the wine. Will make again, we put our swiss bread on the bottom and then poured the soup on top. I also added salt to my own tastes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noel Heavner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great soup for someone who doesn't have a lot of cooking experience. Next time, I plan to cook the onions a little longer on lower heat, use more onions, and add some flour to the onions to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
So good! I followed the tips from KellyCali. I think the key to french onion soup is to simmer the onions for as long as you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This soup needed some serious help. I made it as directed and it tasted like a steak. I added brown sugar (as one reviewer suggested) and it made it worse. After adding salt to cancel out the sugar, I then added thyme, a bay leaf, and garlic. Much better. A side note: gruyere is the only way to go for cheese in a French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was delicious. I did not measure anything but used a little more Worcestershire, added Thyme, cooking white wine, minced garlic, and a little brown sugar. I also made a roux of butter and flour instead of using oil to brown the onion. I substituted Monterey cheese for swiss, as the kids don't like swiss. This was quick and easy and just what I was craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A quick and easy soup, just what we needed on a cool, rainy night when the family had colds. I might try adding just a splash of red wine or balsamic vinegar to give it a little kick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rio Rico, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States