French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
French Onion Soup is one of my boyfriend's favorite things to order at restaurants. I thought I would give this recipe a try- and he absolutely loved it. I had a substantial amount of broth left over after preparing four bowls. It only took about 2 1/2 minutes to properly melt the cheese before serving. Comfort food at it's best- an absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was really good! I made a few modifications right off the bat and there's a couple of things I would change next time though but it's a great start. First off I used 1 tsp of dried Thyme and Parsley instead of fresh because that's what we had on hand. To steep them I put the Thyme, Parsley, and Bay Leaf in a coffee filter and tied that up with white thread so that they wouldn't get into the soup and make it grainy. I also set the pouch inside of a strainer with a handle so it wouldn't get lost in the pot. I also used Dry Sherry instead of red wine because that's what we had on hand and I heard it was good for french onion soup as well. Instead of the Gruyere, I opted for the Swiss because my grocery store didn't have Gruyere cheese. Finally I didn't sprinkle the paprika over the tops, I don't think it needed it. So, I was happy with and would keep all of those changes for next time with the addition of one other modification: Both my husband and I thought that it was too much of a chicken broth to beef broth ratio. It was still very good but had a chicken-y kind of taste to it too. So next time I plan on doing equal parts Chicken Broth and Beef Broth (so 31 fluid ounces of each) to see how that turns out. But this is a great base, we both LOVED the cheese choices and it has a great flavor, just needs a few changes for us personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
LoveLoveLove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabbie Espinal
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I had never tried making French Onion Soup before, and I was surprised I pulled it off on the first try! I specifically waited for my husband to be out of town so I could test it before making it for him. I will definitely keep this recipe around!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabbie Espinal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
My husband and I love to cook. Neither of us as ever attempted French onion soup before, but love it. We chose this recipe because of all the rave reviews. It is AWESOME! We did make some changes though (we just can't leave anything alone!) We used a full stick of butter with the onions because we couldn't get them to caramelize with only 4 Tbsp. We used 20 oz of beef consomme and the rest beef broth because we like a beefier flavor. We put garlic in most everything, so added two cloves of garlic, minced. My local grocery was out of fresh thyme AND parsley, so we had to skip the parsley and used dried thyme leaves. Of course, at the end I forgot to add the balsamic vinegar before broiling the soup, but it didn't hurt it. Next time we will have to compare and see if it changes the flavor. We tried the Gruyere cheese with 2 cups and swiss with the other 2 cups. we used shredded mozzarella. The Gruyere was much better! We will be making this again soon, and sharing it with family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is the best French onion soup I have ever made. I did add 2 Tablespoons of beef base. It tastes just like you would get in a upscale restaurant if not better. Thanks in my recipe box forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is so good I had to post a review. I did use 1/4 cup sherry and 1/4 red wine, that is the only change I made. The balsamic at the end concerned me, don't forget it though, added another in depth flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made this tonight, excellent flavor. Next time I will not add anymore salt. I think the broths and Worstershire sauce had enough. Otherwise, as I said next time....because I Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I always wanted to try making this soup. Absoulutely LOVED it and have now made it 3 times, it just couldnt get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States