French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made this tonight, excellent flavor. Next time I will not add anymore salt. I think the broths and Worstershire sauce had enough. Otherwise, as I said next time....because I Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I always wanted to try making this soup. Absoulutely LOVED it and have now made it 3 times, it just couldnt get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have a large extended family and every year we vacation together they request this soup. I cook the onions twice as long and also extend the simmering time out to an hour this allows the flavors to really mix and it also helps the soup become thicker, which I like. I make homemade croutons out of rosemary bread allowing the family to decide how much bread they want, plus the flavor of the croutons with the soup is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Not sure what happened, but this was not that good to us! We have a vegetarian so I used Vegie broth in place of the beef & chicken. It might have been that, or the bread I used. Not sure, but not really interested in making again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Used muenster cheese and croutons. Turned out delicious, just like a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Hearty on its' own, this can make your whole meal. I appreciated the tip to use salt during the caramelizing process, it makes it so much easier to get a nice rich finish to the onions. I used regular yellow onions, since it was what I had on hand, and it's still a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My 11 year old daughter and I made this. It definitely rivals that of nicer restaurants. We will be making this again. Our personal preference is for more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect. Far better than any French onion soup I've ever made before and better than any French onion soup I've had in a restaurant. At first I saw all the onions after I sliced them and sent my husband to the store to buy more ovenproof bowls. It turned out the recipe was true to the count and I didn't need the extra bowls. I would try the recipe exactly as he is before trying to tweak it because it is perfect. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is my first attempt at French Onion Soup. This is also the first time I have ever had French Onion Soup, so my husband, the expert, is raving how delicious this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Best recipe by far! I had to make a few substitutions (dried seasonings no red wine and provolone cheese), but it was still great! Definitely holding on to this one. Thanks!! 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Couva, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States