French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Best recipe by far! I had to make a few substitutions (dried seasonings no red wine and provolone cheese), but it was still great! Definitely holding on to this one. Thanks!! 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Couva, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
While this was very good, I think I prefer a richer beef stock instead of the chicken. I would also let it reduce a little more...the broth was very thin. Otherwise, the proportions were right on and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Really was as good as the reviews say! Will serve this again and again. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Just got back from Paris...and this recipe rivals what we got there..brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
One of the best recipes out there... Excellent the way it is and very easy to follow direction. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickeygirl
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It was fantastic and probably the best French onion soup I have ever had. The onion soup can be prepared ahead of time and then reheated before adding the bread and cheese, so as to make timing more flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It was OK, but I will leave french onion soup to real chefs for now. This is a fair amount of work and I did not think the results I got were worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I did not follow the recipe exactly. I do not like cooked red onion so I used all vadalia onion. That is the only change I made. I don't think it made a whole lot of difference. I just think red onion should be raw in a salad or on a sandwich (my opinion). Anyway, this soup did it for me. Love it will make it again. I used French bread and one other time croutons. Like them both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Awesome, quick and easy. I'm one of those cooks who uses what I have on hand. It's Vidalia onion season so I used all Vidalia onions. I usually use my own chicken broth, but didn't have any so I substituted 1 chicken bullion cube in 14 oz water. I also didn't have the cheese, so I used provolone and fresh Parmesan. Last but not least, used my favorite croutons because I didn't have the bread. I think I will use croutons from now on; they were much easier to eat. It was truly awesome. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Absolutely the best French Onion Soup I have ever eaten/made/had!! I am a big fan of making soups in large quantities and freezing them for my housemate and I for dinners, and this is no exception. Since I do love simmering soup all day, I can wait for the onions to caramelize into a lovely golden mess; the smell is heavenly! No disrespect to the recipe creator, but I did use the seasoned croutons and a nice big handful of the Trader Joe's Swiss and Gruyere shredded cheese, and the gooey melting goodness is beyond compare. This is a soup to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States