French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Why are there only 5 stars? This recipe deserves 10! So much better than the canned soup version. Everyone declared it a hit, and hubby said it was the star of the meal. Made this exactly per the video instructions, and will do it again next year. I assembled it the day before, brought it up to room temp. while the turkey baked, then added the topping and popped it into the oven while the bird was resting. Gluten free Panko crumbs worked perfectly. Do use good quality Parmigiana-Reggiano cheese, it matters in this recipe. Kudos to Chef John for updating a very tired classic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving. Loved Chef John's video tutorial. "2 Large yellow onions" was hard to judge for me. Here in TX we grow 'em BIG. I ended up using 2 pans to caramelize the plethora of onions. Still, I used them all in the dish, when one of those biggies would have sufficed. I used 1% milk and slightly less flour (my hand guesstimate was off). It didn't thicken quite as much as I thought it would. This could be due to my flour mismanagement or the 1% milk. It worked fine in the dish, it just didn't give that soupy-creamy texture that is found when making the recipe using soup from a can. Also, didn't have sherry vinegar so just used sherry on the onions. Mmmm. The Panko and Parm-Reggi was delightfully tasty. The Gruyere added a nice bite and depth. However, that cheese is really pricey. I may make it with a less expensive brand next time. The flavor of this dish was as wonderful as I thought it would be. What with all the chopping of my BIG onions and the green beans, the caramelizing and sauce cooking, and cheese shredding, this recipe is a bit time consuming and labor intensive. But the end result is elegant, tasty and gave me pride that I didn't do the soup version of this classic casserole. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
If you are wanting a more decadent green bean casserole other than the regular boring soup kind, this is it! This is one of my favorites now! I pretty much went exactly by the recipe except I flavored the white sauce with a little onion and garlic powders and used canned green beans instead of fresh. I was making a big turkey dinner with this, so I prepared it all the day before. I assembled it all together except the topping and refrigerated it. Once I was ready to cook I pulled it out of the refrigerator and topped it with the topping and put in the oven. It was great! It turned out nice and creamy and full of flavor! With the caramelized onions in this, you won't miss those crunchy ones that are normally on top. But Im sure you could still add those and it would give it another depth of flavor if you love them like I do. The gruyere cheese is expensive and honestly if you go with a cheaper swiss or even a gouda cheese, it would taste just as good. So don't get scared away with an expensive cheese because it will still be great with something cheaper! Thanks Chef John for this delicious casserole! I will be definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was the hit of the big dinner party which included a delicious rack of pork and cheesy, fantastic scalloped potatoes. It's rather a lot of work, but I followed the recipe EXCEPT for adding 1/2 lb of cooked, chopped bacon (divided) to both layers of the onions. I used the fresh haricot verts (fresh green beans) from Trader Joe's. Oh boy, this is a guaranteed hit - go for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was looking for a way to make the traditional 'green bean casserole' without having to resort to using the stuff from a can as I have to cook gluten-free. This version is way better and my taste buds were pleased! Yes--the cheese is pricey (I paid $4.99 for 4 oz) but it marries all the ingredients together perfectly -- savory and sweet. I didn't have access to fresh green beans and used 2 lbs of frozen -- I cooked them 2 minutes less than the package specified to avoid them getting mushy. I also don't keep milk in the house and substituted half-half. Of course, more calories and fat but the sauce was rich and creamy; I used rice flour to make the roux -- 4 tbsp. For the top, I used Kinnikinnick gluten free panko bread crumbs. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is not worth the time or effort. It has some decent flavors, but nothing that really makes it worth it. It looks good, smells good and tastes mediocre. We love green bean casserole and were hoping this would be better then other versions. It's not and with all the amazing ingredients it's almost baffling. Like they wash each other out somehow. Just remember this review when your kicking yourself after laboring for nothing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmolies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Nobody except my husband liked this at the Thanksgiving table. I thought it was pretty good, just not worth the effort that I put into it. Hate to say it, but I'll probably go back to the canned soup version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
The wife and I were surprised by the savory flavor. I believe it has a lot to do with the caramelized yellow onions. Am going to try it next time with sweet onion (like Vidalia) and see what happens. Yes, it is a little labor intensive, but really worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I cut the recipe in half as my plants have only given my 1 lb of green beans so far. But otherwise I went by the book and this was delicious! Those caramelized onions are a revelation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
It came out exactly how it looked on the video and the taste was AMAZING!! I was never a fan for green bean casserole but, with this recipe I am a convert I needed a recipe. I got stuck with making this as a side dish for a dinner party. My hubby won't eat veggies to save his life, he had second's and third's, if there were any left he would have requested left over's too. It was a huge hit, this recipe is a keeper no need to look any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States