French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
The wife and I were surprised by the savory flavor. I believe it has a lot to do with the caramelized yellow onions. Am going to try it next time with sweet onion (like Vidalia) and see what happens. Yes, it is a little labor intensive, but really worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
It came out exactly how it looked on the video and the taste was AMAZING!! I was never a fan for green bean casserole but, with this recipe I am a convert I needed a recipe. I got stuck with making this as a side dish for a dinner party. My hubby won't eat veggies to save his life, he had second's and third's, if there were any left he would have requested left over's too. It was a huge hit, this recipe is a keeper no need to look any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Didn't care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I cut the recipe in half as my plants have only given my 1 lb of green beans so far. But otherwise I went by the book and this was delicious! Those caramelized onions are a revelation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made this for Easter dinner and everybody liked it! Used most of the ingredients that I had. Never made green bean casserole before but thought I would try it and was very happy with it. Thanks! I'll make it again someday....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
this recipe was very good--fixed it for Easter and everyone liked it. there wasn't any left. I wanted something different than the old traditional. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Not as tasty as I thought it would be and certainly not worth the effort. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
If you are wanting a more decadent green bean casserole other than the regular boring soup kind, this is it! This is one of my favorites now! I pretty much went exactly by the recipe except I flavored the white sauce with a little onion and garlic powders and used canned green beans instead of fresh. I was making a big turkey dinner with this, so I prepared it all the day before. I assembled it all together except the topping and refrigerated it. Once I was ready to cook I pulled it out of the refrigerator and topped it with the topping and put in the oven. It was great! It turned out nice and creamy and full of flavor! With the caramelized onions in this, you won't miss those crunchy ones that are normally on top. But Im sure you could still add those and it would give it another depth of flavor if you love them like I do. The gruyere cheese is expensive and honestly if you go with a cheaper swiss or even a gouda cheese, it would taste just as good. So don't get scared away with an expensive cheese because it will still be great with something cheaper! Thanks Chef John for this delicious casserole! I will be definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Loved the taste of this! A little time consuming to make, but it was well worth it - it has now become my holiday side dish, wouldn't want to make it frequently, so I put it on the special menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States