French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i also grew up with this recipe. next time try this... when adding the onion soup, use a small strainer and sift the powder through and discard the flakes. another simple variation is to use half sour cream and half cream cheese. always be sure to sift out all those flakes for a superb dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
This dip is good, but I prefer the onion soup mix mixed with a container of sour cream instead. This is good to make when you don't have sour cream though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I don't normally review recipes but this one was very easy to make and flavourful. I won't be purchasing any dips from now on...I will just make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I ended up making this recipe twice. The first time i added the milk, and it came out a little thinner than i would have liked. The second time i made it I cut the milk out completely, and i loved it. It was a huge hit at my Chirstmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I found this recipe much better than the standard soup mix and sour cream . I also lowered the amount of soup mix required (to my taste)I found it turned out much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATTT11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Like the sour cream version much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I LOVE French Onion Dip. Especially with pretzels. Try it with pretzels instead of chips---a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family makes this dip, either with the cream cheese or sour cream, we also sometimes mix the soup mix with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I took the advice of one other other reviews and sieved out the bits and pieces of dry onion. I thought it was a bit plain, something was missing. I added chopped chives, and that was better, it gave an element of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I liked this dip, however it tasted a bit too salty for my liking. Still tasty, and super easy to make, though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States