French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This dip was very tasty. The onion flavor was rich and savory. I did add some green onions for color towards the end of the saute process along with a 1/2 tsp of fresh garlic. Very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and found the mayonnaise a bit too prominent. Next time, I would halve the mayo and maybe use a little more onion, even. It went over pretty well at my party, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftLass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
great recipe. We use more sour cream and less mayo... serve with roasted fingerling potatoes. yum.... a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This was really good. I used 2 large onions because 1.5 cups didn't seem like enough by the time they cooked down. It was good to serve at our family camping trip. I think it needed color and I wished I would have put some green onions in there or a little dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I was very disappointed. It tasted like mayonnaise, and nothing else. I made it for my husband, who said it was good, but I'm positive he was just being nice. I don't know. He hates mayo, and that's all I could taste in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was very easy and extremely flavorful. I followed it exactly, and got rave reviews at a picnic to which I brought it. It has a very natural onion flavor, with perfect seasoning balance, vey differant to that of the powder/sour cream taste I had been previously used to. I will not ever do that shortcut again, thanks to this recipe that is now in my permanent box! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACLARE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used cream cheese instead of mayo, was really good, this recipe is not for people who do not like onion very very very oniony. Also I added green onion for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
We just didn't care for this, I'm not sure why. It's not the fault of the recipe, I guess it's just not our taste. Thanks for the chance to try something new though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really Good! I also added fresh garlic - what a wonderful flavor. Will keep thisone and use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemingford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I gave this 4* only because I modified the recipe a little. I added twice the amount of onion and some fresh chopped parsley for color. I thought chopped fresh thyme would be outstanding but I didn't have any at the time. I served this at a family BBQ and everyone said it was "highly addictive." I actually only got one chip w/ dip before the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States