French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was so rich and creamy I used this at a baby shower and it was a big hit! Made it the night before flavor set's in nicely.Very first time ever making anything like this followed to a tee and will use this again Thanks!!Rochelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The reason why I gave this a 3 is because I wasn't sure that if I completely add no mayo or sour creme that it would change the taste of the dip. I'm going to try it this time with 1/2 cup of mayo and sour creme. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup mayonnaise, teaspoon salt, teaspoon pepper, 1 1/2 large onions and about 3-4 sage leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought that there was too much mayo. This recipe is a replica of a recipe from another website, but with altered portions of sour cream, garlic and mayo. I have tried again with the 1/2 tsp garlic powder from this recipe and mix of 1 1/2 cups sour cream, 3/4 cup of mayo from original recipe. Also added a splash of Worcestershire Sauce instead of the 1/2 tsp of Kosher Salt. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very YUMMY! I made this in a rush, put the onions in the freezer to cool and served it asap, very delicious! I used more sour cream than mayo like another reviewer said and used lowfat mayo. No more boxed stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. It takes a little effort to make but it is well worth it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I reduced the amount of mayo and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I used 2 1/2 cups of yogurt cheese instead of sour cream. You make it by using a large coffee filter to drain off the whey from plain yogurt. It takes 8-10 hours to make. However it is much better for you than sour cream and tastes the same. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder and 1 teaspoon dried chopped chives. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Easy to make and yummy. I had never though about making my own onion dip before...I usually buy the powdered mix. This is much better, and got lots of compliments at the cookout I took it to. My house smelled like onions for a few days though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Everyone at the party LOVED this dip! You have to really like onions to like it but then, why would you make an onion dip if you are not an onion fan? I use all sour cream, no mayo. I just don't like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States