French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I thought this was really great. A bit salty maybe.. but it grows on you... I couldn't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this dip exactly as directed and it was amazing! A huge family favorite for sure! I love that it tastes similar to the 'onion soup mix' version, but much healthier being from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and it was awesome. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loves this dip. It is much better than the dry soup mix variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
FABULOUS. It was all gone in 1 night. Made exactly as directed and it was not too mayonaise flavored as some suggested. I had no problem browning the onion in 20 mins, probably because i did not use a non-stick pan. I think the non-stick pans don't brown as well as a good non-coated pan. i had no problem cleaing the pan afterwards either, because i kept stirring the onions and scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spatula. Definite make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1.5 cups of sour cream and .5 cups of mayo, and 2 cups of onion-it was excellent! I almost ate the whole thing myself. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was so rich and creamy I used this at a baby shower and it was a big hit! Made it the night before flavor set's in nicely.Very first time ever making anything like this followed to a tee and will use this again Thanks!!Rochelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The reason why I gave this a 3 is because I wasn't sure that if I completely add no mayo or sour creme that it would change the taste of the dip. I'm going to try it this time with 1/2 cup of mayo and sour creme. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup mayonnaise, teaspoon salt, teaspoon pepper, 1 1/2 large onions and about 3-4 sage leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States