French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
To make this a little healthier, I combined it with another recipe. While caramelizing the onions, add some beef broth to cover them and simmer with 1/2 tbsp of white vinegar until it has mostly evaporated. Allow to cool. Instead of 1 cup of mayo, I split it into 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, and 1/2 cup lite mayo. Refrigerate for an hour. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was really good. Because I was short on time, I added minced onion and onion powder instead of sauteing the onions. And because of some other reviews, I reduced the amount of mayo by a 1/4. Will not buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was amazing. I was extremely pleased with the way this turned out. I even ended up substituting 1/2 cup plain yogurt for some of the sour cream, as I had less than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!! This was SOOO good & blows the store boughten stuff out of the water!!! I cut down on the mayo per other reviews(i used about half) and used fresh garlic. Also added a dash of worcestershire sauce. I will definately add this to my list of must haves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
i had a craving for onion dip at 9pm, but no soup mix to be found. I made this in about 10 minutes without mayo or garlic. Had TONs of flavor, tasted just like the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I thought this was really great. A bit salty maybe.. but it grows on you... I couldn't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this dip exactly as directed and it was amazing! A huge family favorite for sure! I love that it tastes similar to the 'onion soup mix' version, but much healthier being from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and it was awesome. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loves this dip. It is much better than the dry soup mix variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States