French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this dip exactly as directed and it was amazing! A huge family favorite for sure! I love that it tastes similar to the 'onion soup mix' version, but much healthier being from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and it was awesome. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loves this dip. It is much better than the dry soup mix variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
FABULOUS. It was all gone in 1 night. Made exactly as directed and it was not too mayonaise flavored as some suggested. I had no problem browning the onion in 20 mins, probably because i did not use a non-stick pan. I think the non-stick pans don't brown as well as a good non-coated pan. i had no problem cleaing the pan afterwards either, because i kept stirring the onions and scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spatula. Definite make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1.5 cups of sour cream and .5 cups of mayo, and 2 cups of onion-it was excellent! I almost ate the whole thing myself. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was so rich and creamy I used this at a baby shower and it was a big hit! Made it the night before flavor set's in nicely.Very first time ever making anything like this followed to a tee and will use this again Thanks!!Rochelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The reason why I gave this a 3 is because I wasn't sure that if I completely add no mayo or sour creme that it would change the taste of the dip. I'm going to try it this time with 1/2 cup of mayo and sour creme. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup mayonnaise, teaspoon salt, teaspoon pepper, 1 1/2 large onions and about 3-4 sage leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought that there was too much mayo. This recipe is a replica of a recipe from another website, but with altered portions of sour cream, garlic and mayo. I have tried again with the 1/2 tsp garlic powder from this recipe and mix of 1 1/2 cups sour cream, 3/4 cup of mayo from original recipe. Also added a splash of Worcestershire Sauce instead of the 1/2 tsp of Kosher Salt. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States