French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Tasted too much like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe. From prior recommendations, I used 1/2 cup mayo, instead of 1 cup mayo and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I mixed the mayo, sour cream, and cream cheese in the food processor to ensure a proper mix. Then added the onions and a little paprika for color and Viola! The perfect onion dip. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this exactly as written EXCEPT I used all sour cream, no mayo. Mixed this up & tasted it before ever putting it in the fridge to meld together... YUM! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, Virginia, USA
Living In: Basye, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I will never buy it again! This was amazing! The onion flavor is so much more than you hope it to be! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
fantastic recipe A***********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent! I quickly threw this dip together a few hours before a BBQ and it turned out great! I'm not usually a big fan of french onion dips, but this one is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very easy and delicious! It did take a little longer than 20 minutes to caramelize the onions, but it was still TOTALLY worth it. I'm not sure if I can eat store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Best dip we ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was delicious. The only things I did differently was add spices, and put only about a 1/2-3/4 cup of mayonnaise. A full cup would have overruled the taste. Overall... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I will never use the soup mix again. This was awesome and have made it twice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Ruffner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States