French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was delicious. The only things I did differently was add spices, and put only about a 1/2-3/4 cup of mayonnaise. A full cup would have overruled the taste. Overall... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I will never use the soup mix again. This was awesome and have made it twice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
So easy to make and tastes great! My teenage son and his best friend told me to never get the store bought version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really good dip. I used half the mayo and subbed in half a cup of reduced fat cream cheese. So good. I topped it with chopped green onions and chives. I brought it to a midwestern potluck and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
To make this a little healthier, I combined it with another recipe. While caramelizing the onions, add some beef broth to cover them and simmer with 1/2 tbsp of white vinegar until it has mostly evaporated. Allow to cool. Instead of 1 cup of mayo, I split it into 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, and 1/2 cup lite mayo. Refrigerate for an hour. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was really good. Because I was short on time, I added minced onion and onion powder instead of sauteing the onions. And because of some other reviews, I reduced the amount of mayo by a 1/4. Will not buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was amazing. I was extremely pleased with the way this turned out. I even ended up substituting 1/2 cup plain yogurt for some of the sour cream, as I had less than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!! This was SOOO good & blows the store boughten stuff out of the water!!! I cut down on the mayo per other reviews(i used about half) and used fresh garlic. Also added a dash of worcestershire sauce. I will definately add this to my list of must haves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
i had a craving for onion dip at 9pm, but no soup mix to be found. I made this in about 10 minutes without mayo or garlic. Had TONs of flavor, tasted just like the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I thought this was really great. A bit salty maybe.. but it grows on you... I couldn't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States