French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very easy and delicious! It did take a little longer than 20 minutes to caramelize the onions, but it was still TOTALLY worth it. I'm not sure if I can eat store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Best dip we ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was delicious. The only things I did differently was add spices, and put only about a 1/2-3/4 cup of mayonnaise. A full cup would have overruled the taste. Overall... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I will never use the soup mix again. This was awesome and have made it twice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Ruffner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
So easy to make and tastes great! My teenage son and his best friend told me to never get the store bought version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really good dip. I used half the mayo and subbed in half a cup of reduced fat cream cheese. So good. I topped it with chopped green onions and chives. I brought it to a midwestern potluck and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
To make this a little healthier, I combined it with another recipe. While caramelizing the onions, add some beef broth to cover them and simmer with 1/2 tbsp of white vinegar until it has mostly evaporated. Allow to cool. Instead of 1 cup of mayo, I split it into 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, and 1/2 cup lite mayo. Refrigerate for an hour. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was really good. Because I was short on time, I added minced onion and onion powder instead of sauteing the onions. And because of some other reviews, I reduced the amount of mayo by a 1/4. Will not buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was amazing. I was extremely pleased with the way this turned out. I even ended up substituting 1/2 cup plain yogurt for some of the sour cream, as I had less than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!! This was SOOO good & blows the store boughten stuff out of the water!!! I cut down on the mayo per other reviews(i used about half) and used fresh garlic. Also added a dash of worcestershire sauce. I will definately add this to my list of must haves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States