French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used Spike, a seasoning salt rather than the kosher salt. It really takes a few hours for the flavors to develop! This is better with chips than with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Okay, it's been in the fridge 2 hours. I followed the directions except I used 2 cups of onion instead of 1 1/2. I think next time I will use LESS mayo (1/3 cup instead of 1/2 a cup) because the mayo taste is a little strong. It also needs more of an onion taste to it. Maybe onion powder would work, but probably chives would do very well. Oveall, however, it is a nice tasting dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
this is the second time i've tried this recipe. both times the recipes were excellent. this time, however, i did tweek it a little. i added a few dashed of hot sauce, added 1/2 a slab of cream cheese(as others did), a bit more garlic, parsley and chives. we are going to a poker party/baseball playoff games (go cubs!!)at my brothers tonight and needed to bring something. this is be perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was so yummy and a huge hit at our BBQ. I served it with potato chips and cut up veggies. I made it with cream cheese instead of mayo based on other reviews, and it ended up being really thick and hard to dip into, but it was really creamy. I think next time I'll do have mayo and half cream cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I love this. My husband especially loved it! I changed up a few things, based on our tastes. First, I used chopped garlic with the onions. I added the chopped garlic when I had a minute or two left with cooking the onions. I used maybe a 1/2 T. I took the advice of others and used 1/2 c of sour cream and 1/2 a block of cream cheese, which made the dip really creamy. It turned out amazingly well. I agree with everyone else - this stuff is way better than what you can buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm! I used vidalia onions with the garlic and 1/2 block (softened) cream cheese and 1/2 C mayo with the 1C sour cream. The cream cheese gave it a great texture and rich flavor. So easy and so impressive. Everyone at 2 different functions raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Awesome recipe. Much better than store brands. I will never buy it store brands again after making this. Easy, delicious and I recently made this for a party and it was a favorite. My sister in law doesnt even like french onion dip but couldnt stop dipping. recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Was absolutely delicious. I minced about five cloves of garlic and sauted with the onions once the onions started to turn transparent instead of using garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I gave this 4* only because I modified the recipe a little. I added twice the amount of onion and some fresh chopped parsley for color. I thought chopped fresh thyme would be outstanding but I didn't have any at the time. I served this at a family BBQ and everyone said it was "highly addictive." I actually only got one chip w/ dip before the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really Good! I also added fresh garlic - what a wonderful flavor. Will keep thisone and use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemingford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States