French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emiann H
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this according to the directions, only I substituted the sour cream with organic plain yogurt and, like some others did, used less mayo and more yogurt. Super delicious! Hard to stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
really good, easy recipe. I added some curry to it and it was an amazing curry dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was very good but as written the taste of mayo was too strong for our tastes. Next time I will use 1/2 the mayo and increase the sour cream accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
this was great. i also used some plain greek yogurt and half the mayo, and added some shredded cheddar cheese w/horseradish. i had quite a bit leftover because i doubled the recipe, but i just got done making stuffed mushrooms with the leftovers. i cooked some sausage, added some heat and a little sage. i love using up what i have! thanks for the post CCUMMINS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
So good! Add a touch of frank's hot sauce to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
SO good!! I add a little worcestershire and about 1/2 tsp of beef bouillon to the onions. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is great. So much better than the kind made with soup mix. It's Alton Brown's recipe. I've been making it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Nothing beats this!!! Have it sit over night for a full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy and tasty. Got a lot of compliments when I brought this to a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
YUM! I've been wanting to make this for some time and am SOOOOOOO glad I finally did!!! Taking time to caramelize the onions REALLY makes a huge difference and is what sets this dip apart from store-bought ones. Admittedly, I did make a few changes that I think made this even better (I'm not sure I would have liked this as much had I not done so...). As others recommended, I decreased the mayo by half and upped the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups worth. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce / pinch of sugar to my onions as they cooked (and I cooked them in bacon fat, not EVOO) and a couple of sliced green onions to my finished dip, mainly for color. My final change was to up the amount of onions to 2 cups total - but I would add even more next time. NOTE: It took about 25 minutes for my onions to caramelize, but I had to turn my burner to the lowest setting the final 10 minutes to prevent them from scorching. Overall, a VERY good, basic dip that the man in my life loves. Booyah! Thanks for sharing, CCUMMINS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States