French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I've made this recipe 3 times so far and each time it's the first thing gone on the table! Here are a few things I do different. First it takes alot longer to caramelize the onions then it says, I did it low and slow for about 45 min. I used alot less mayo as I felt it overpowered a little (I used just 1/4 cup instead of half). I also upped the amount of onions to just about 2 cups and added a few dashes of worchestershire sauce. You really do have to let it sit overnight to really get the full effect but I'll never buy store dip again, its a little time consuming but VERY easy and the taste is out of this world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I was very disappointed. It tasted like mayonnaise, and nothing else. I made it for my husband, who said it was good, but I'm positive he was just being nice. I don't know. He hates mayo, and that's all I could taste in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
AMAZING! I changed it up only a little bit. Instead of powdered garlic I sauteed minced garlic with the white onion. I added a sprinkle of garlic salt after chilled. YUM YUM YUM. I will never buy premade dip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice Stolen Recipe from Alton Brown. Of course like any Artist one uses others ideas to learn but at least build upon it or give credit. I'm annoyed by all of these posers that copy recipes or say there's ketchup in Authentic Mexican Tacos and things of that nature, just so they can feel important. Makes it take forever for those of us to get legitimate recipes posted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Blaze

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used cream cheese instead of mayo, was really good, this recipe is not for people who do not like onion very very very oniony. Also I added green onion for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was very easy and extremely flavorful. I followed it exactly, and got rave reviews at a picnic to which I brought it. It has a very natural onion flavor, with perfect seasoning balance, vey differant to that of the powder/sour cream taste I had been previously used to. I will not ever do that shortcut again, thanks to this recipe that is now in my permanent box! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACLARE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
great recipe. We use more sour cream and less mayo... serve with roasted fingerling potatoes. yum.... a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and found the mayonnaise a bit too prominent. Next time, I would halve the mayo and maybe use a little more onion, even. It went over pretty well at my party, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftLass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This dip was very tasty. The onion flavor was rich and savory. I did add some green onions for color towards the end of the saute process along with a 1/2 tsp of fresh garlic. Very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is a good place to start but I agree with Crowchick it is wat too mayonnaisy. I would only add a 1/2 cup of mayo and 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. That's what I did and it tasted much better then the 1 cup of mayo version. But again a good base recipe. I changed nothing but the mayo and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States