French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! No need to ever buy the dry mix again. The one thing I changed was adding less mayo. I used a total of 1/3 cup mayonnaise. This was just the right amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I did reduce the mayo a bit and replaced it with extra sour cream. I think the trick is to let it sit for a long time to let the flavors marry. All of the onion haters in my family loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I turned it into a low carb/low cal dip. OMG! This is great! I'm mad I just found it and have been wasting money on store bought . I made it over to make it only 170 calories for the entire recipe! I did the following: subbed coconut oil for the olive, used 1 cup onions instead of 1 1/2 (even though I love onions, seemed to be too much to me), added minced garlic and 1 stalk of scallions to the onions at around minute 15, subbed 1 cup Fage 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream and 1/2 cup Smart Beat non fat mayo for the mayo. I started eating it warm, it was that good. Next time I MAY use full fat Fage because the texture is slightly dry but the taste is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I swear it seemed like every review I read said they will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again. Wow after making this " I will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again". True it takes much longer to caramlize onions and I added chives from the garden. This was a huge hit a a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved this dip. So did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
No Mayo! just sour cream. I did use Vadalia onions and thought they may be a bit sweet but great flavour. Also used black pepper and saute the fresh garlic in with the onions. I will try some cream cheese next time- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Sooooooo awesome! Cut back a bit on the mayo and added a splash of Wooster! Will never use store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dip but it does take longer to carmalize the onions. I also used less Mayo and more sour cream and some yogart; this can be adjusted to your own taste. Also pleas someone tell me how create a new catagory under the "save receipes" Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this following the advice of several reviewers and used less mayo. Don't get me wrong, it was really good - but was it better than onion soup mix onion dip? Eh. The jury's out. I ate a bit and then added some cooked bacon to see if that would up the flavor a little and it didn't. I'm thinking that this might be a good dip to serve hot. I'll try it again, but I wasn't wowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Five stars because it really does taste much better than the boxed onion soup mix version! I made this as the recipe states, except used one a half cups sour cream, and half cup mayo. In just 20 mins the onions were carmelized to perfection. What an easy recipe! Soooo tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States